Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Tell No One by Harlan Coben

Tell No One

by Harlan Coben

Tell No One by Harlan Coben X
Tell No One by Harlan Coben
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2001, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

"Begins at a run and in no time is moving at an all-out sprint.... The characters are engaging and the strange goings-on will leave readers rapidly turning pages in search of fresh clues.... [Coben] writes with wit and a shrewd sense of plotting."

For Dr. David Beck, the loss was shattering. And every day for the past eight years, he has relived the horror of what happened. The gleaming lake. The pale moonlight. The piercing screams. The night his wife was taken. The last night he saw her alive.

Everyone tells him it's time to move on, to forget the past once and for all. But for David Beck, there can be no closure. A message has appeared on his computer, a phrase only he and his dead wife know. Suddenly Beck is taunted with the impossible -- that somewhere, somehow, Elizabeth is alive.

Beck has been warned to tell no one. And he doesn't. Instead, he runs from the people he trusts the most, plunging headlong into a search for the shadowy figure whose messages hold out a desperate hope.

But already Beck is being hunted down. He's headed straight into the heart of a dark and deadly secret -- and someone intends to stop him before he gets there.

Excerpt
Tell No One

Eight Years Later

Another girl was about to break my heart.

She had brown eyes and kinky hair and a toothy smile. She also had braces and was fourteen years old and--

"Are you pregnant?" I asked.

"Yeah, Dr. Beck."

I managed not to close my eyes. This was not the first time I'd seen a pregnant teen. Not even the first time today. I've been a pediatrician at this Washington Heights clinic since I finished my residency at nearby Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center five years ago. We serve a Medicaid (read: poor) population with general family health care, including obstetrics, internal medicine, and, of course, pediatrics. Many people believe this makes me a bleeding-heart do-gooder. It doesn't. I like being a pediatrician. I don't particularly like doing it out in the suburbs with soccer moms and manicured dads and, well, people like me.

"What do you plan on doing?" I asked.

"Me and Terrell. We're real happy, Dr. Beck."

"How old is Terrell?"...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Detroit News
Set to be one of the big thriller reads of the summer.... Fifteen pages into this book, you're sucked in and Coben never lets the pace stall.... If it takes more than two days to finish this one, you're working too many hours. A hot summer rush.

San Francisco Chronicle
Harlan Coben's Tell No One begins at a run and in no time is moving at an all-out sprint.... The characters are engaging and the strange goings-on will leave readers rapidly turning pages in search of fresh clues.... [Coben] writes with wit and a shrewd sense of plotting.

USA Today
Compelling, cinematic ... with surprises in store for the reader until the very last page.... [readers will] savor every clue, every detail.

Kirkus Reviews
A gloriously exciting yarn. ... A quest for answers that will have you burning the midnight oil till 300 a.m.

Library Journal
Coben's latest thriller is the book everyone should take to the beach this summer. ... Tell everyone to read Tell No One.

Publishers Weekly
Coben knows how to move pages, and he generates considerable suspense.

Author Blurb Iris Johansen
A thriller of runaway tension.

Author Blurb Jeffery Deaver
Suspense at its finest.

Author Blurb Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author of Moment of Truth
Tell No One is such a terrific thriller, you'll want to tell everyone! Harlan Coben delivers the near-impossible -- a can't-put-it-down page-turner with a slam-bang surprise ending. You'll read this book in one breathless gulp!

Author Blurb Phillip Margolin
Non-stop action with plot twists galore.

Reader Reviews

Marti

very good
I loved this book. It kept me on edge in a good way :), I mean every time I thought I figured out who did it, I turned out to be wrong; but I think that was the best part, so if your wondering if this is a good book to read, I have to say yes =D
Morgan W.

Just amazing.
This is probably my favorite book. I like everything about it. The climax scene at the tree made me cry, I was just so happy for him. You have to read it, and once you start you won't want to stop, seriously.
Natasha

Twisted
I really hated how the book kept twisting the story.
Kim

My first Coban, but not my last!
I don't read many mystery-thrillers. There are so many mediocre entries in this genre that I think it's very difficult to find a good one. I was therefore initially disappointed when my book club chose this novel, but I decided to participate ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Tell No One, try these:

  • Gone Girl jacket

    Gone Girl

    by Gillian Flynn

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    Marriage can be a real killer. Gillian Flynn, takes that statement to its darkest place in this unputdownable masterpiece about a marriage gone terribly, terribly wrong.

  • Echo Park jacket

    Echo Park

    by Michael Connelly

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    More than a decade ago, Harry Bosch worked on the case of Marie Gesto, a twenty-two-year-old who went missing but was never found. Now, with the Gesto file still on his desk, Bosch gets a call from the District Attorney: A serial killer has confessed. Did Harry miss a key clue? Or is something more going on here?

We have 5 read-alikes for Tell No One, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Harlan Coben
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.