MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Harlan Coben biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Harlan Coben

Harlan Coben

Harlan Coben Biography

Harlan Coben was born and raised in New Jersey.  After graduating from Amherst College as political science major, he worked in the travel industry. He now lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a pediatrician, and their four children.

Coben is the first author to win all three of the most coveted literary awards: the Edgar Award, Shamus Award and Anthony Award.  His books include the Myron Bolitar series, as well as other standalone novels, including Play Dead, Miracle Cure. Tell No One, Gone for Good, No Second Chance, Just One Look, The Innocent, The Wods, Hold Tight, and Caught. Harlan Coben's books have been published in more than twenty-two languages. 

Harlan Coben's website

This bio was last updated on 08/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Interview

Coben answers the questions his fans want to know ... how to get autographed (and personalized) copy of his books, are there any future Myron Bolitar novels planned, and does he actually read emails sent to him by fans.

What is the order of the Myron Bolitar novels?
Deal Breaker, Drop Shot, Fade Away, Back Spin, One False Move, The Final Detail, and Darkest Fear. After that, we have Tell No One, Gone For Good and No Second Chance.

Will you write another Myron Bolitar novel?
There is an old Yiddish expression: Man plans and God laughs. So yes, I plan on bringing Myron back, but I really can’t say when. I won’t force it. When I finish a book, I am the emptiest of vessels. If the next story that comes to me will work for Myron, then he’ll tell it. If not, then he’ll stay silent. My guess is, Myron and the gang will return, but in a very different way. It’s difficult (and probably bad) to go backwards.

Where and when were you born?
January 4, 1962 in Livingston, New Jersey. Yes, that’s the same town where Myron Bolitar and Will Klein were born and raised. I still live in New Jersey.

Where did you go to school?
Livingston High School class of 80, Amherst College class of 1984.

Are any of the characters based on real people in your life?
Not really, no. Win is loosely based on my college roommate, though in real life, he is less, er, psychotic ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Harlan Coben at BookBrowse
Fool Me Once jacket Six Years jacket Stay Close jacket Live Wire jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Harlan Coben but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jeff Abbott

    Jeff Abbott

    Jeff Abbott is a suspense novelist. He is published in twenty languages and has been a bestseller in the US, the UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Australia and Portugal. His novels Panic and Collision have been optioned for film... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Innocent

    Try:
    Panic
    by Jeff Abbott

  • David Baldacci

    David Baldacci

    David published his first novel, Absolute Power, in 1996. A major motion picture adaptation followed, with Clint Eastwood as its director and star. In total, David has published 32 novels for adults; all have been national ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Innocent

    Try:
    The Simple Truth
    by David Baldacci

We recommend 20 similar authors

View all 20 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.