Summary and book reviews of Chicken Soup For The Preteen Soul by Jack Canfield

Chicken Soup For The Preteen Soul

101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing up for Kids Ages 10-13

by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen

Chicken Soup For The Preteen Soul by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen X
Chicken Soup For The Preteen Soul by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 350 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2000, 380 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Written by and for preteens, this uplifting collection of stories touches on the emotions and situations we experience every day.

Our preteen years, ages nine to thirteen, can present some of the most difficult times in our young lives—a period of tremendous physical and emotional change. We're eager to leave the 'kid' stage, yet we're uncertain about what adolescence will bring; we start hearing the familiar refrain 'wait until you’re older' far too often. Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul is a companion guide for these transitional years.

Written by and for preteens, this uplifting collection of stories touches on the emotions and situations we experience every day: making and losing friends, fitting in while keeping our personal identity, discovering the opposite sex, dealing with pressures at school including violence, and coping with family issues such as divorce.

Chapters include: On Love, On Family, On Friendship, On Choices, On Changes, On Overcoming Obstacles, Eclectic Wisdom, Tough Stuff, Attitude and Perspective and Achieving Dreams.

Contributors include: NSYNC, Mia Hamm, Beverley Mitchell and Karl Malone.

My Best Enemy

Examine the contents, not the bottle.
The Talmud

Once again, I was in a new school. So was a girl in my class named Paris. That's where the similarities ended.

I was tall, with a big, moony face. She was petite and skinny with a model's delicate features.

My thick, black hair had been recently cut short into a shag style. Her natural caramel blonde hair flowed to her waist and looked great when she flipped it around.

I was twelve and one of the oldest in the class. She was eleven and the youngest in the class.

I was awkward and shy. She wasn't.

I wore baggy overalls, sweatshirts and lime-green hiking boots. Paris wore rhinestone platform shoes, little twirly skirts and expensive, size-one designer jeans.

I couldn't stand her. I considered her my enemy. She liked me. She wanted to be friends.

One day, she invited me over and I said yes. I was too shocked to answer any other way. My family had moved six times in six years, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

School Library Journal - Elaine Fort Weischedel
Gr 5-7-Like other titles in the "Chicken Soup" series, this volume contains numerous short pieces of verse and prose, interspersed with comic strips of "Calvin & Hobbes," "Family Circus," and "Dennis the Menace," as well as pithy quotations selected as lead-ins to some of the pieces. The writings are grouped under headings such as "Achieving Dreams," "Overcoming Obstacles," "On Choices," and "Eclectic Wisdom" (for the bits that didn't fit elsewhere?). They are intended to encourage, inspire, and comfort. Each of the stories carries an author's name, and those written by young people give an age as well. Snail mail and e-mail addresses are included for those who want to respond to the book or submit stories and poems of their own. Children who loved Chicken Soup for the Kid's Soul (Health Communications, 1998) will no doubt welcome another serving.

Reader Reviews

dcthunderlover123

my best enemy
OMG! This is the best book I have ever read. It's such a good role model for kids. I will go to Amazon Prime and buy this book.

aarya shah

likeable by preteen and my teen sister as well
Mom bought this book as an add on gift which I did not want and I refused to read it, but since I was out of any more dumb diaries and princess diaries I started to read and could not stop until I finished reading it. It's amazing, and there are so ...   Read More

shelby

Awesome!
I didn't want to put the book back down! All the sad stories made me want to tell mine! I want to make a difference like all those pre- teens did. I remember when one of my friends parents went to jail and I cried for her but in the end she decided ...   Read More

Katelyn

Wow!!!
At first when my mom handed me this book as a present I was like whatever and I didn't read it..... After a while I decided I had nothing better to do so I started reading...... This book is amazing! I highly recommend this book! I am a preteen so ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Jack Canfield
More books by Mark Victor Hansen

If you liked Chicken Soup For The Preteen Soul, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.