Summary and book reviews of Chicken Soup For The Kid's Soul by Jack Canfield

Chicken Soup For The Kid's Soul

101 Stories of Courage, Hope and Laughter

by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen

Chicken Soup For The Kid's Soul by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen X
Chicken Soup For The Kid's Soul by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1998, 332 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 1998, 398 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Young readers will find empowerment and encouragement to love and accept themselves, believe in their dreams, find answers to their questions.

Today's kids face grave issues and harder decisions than ever before. Gang warfare, violence, drugs, alcohol, smoking, pregnancy, depression and suicide have found their way into middle and elementary schools. Divorce splits apart families every day. These issues make kids feel as if they must understand and accept all the troubles of the world.

Now more than ever, kids want and need the inspiration and hope that Chicken Soup for the Soul provides. In this special volume, young readers will find empowerment and encouragement to love and accept themselves, believe in their dreams, find answers to their questions and discover hope for a promising future.

Green Salami

That is the best - to laugh with someone because you both think the same things are funny.
Gloria Vanderbilt

Sometime during the seventh grade two things happened to me. The first was that I got hooked on salami. Salami sandwiches, salami and cheese, salami on crackers---I couldn't get enough of the salty, spicy sausage. The other thing was that my mom and I weren't getting along really well. We weren't fighting really badly or anything, but it just seemed as if all she wanted to do was argue with me and tell me what to do. We also didn't laugh together much anymore. Things were changing, and my mom and I were the first to feel it.

As far as the salami went, my mom wouldn't buy any because she said it was too expensive and not that good for me. To prove my emerging independence, I decided to go ahead and eat what I wanted anyway. So one day I used my allowance to buy a full sausage of dry salami.

Now a problem had to be solved: ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Children's Literature - Meredith Kiger
The authors selected 101 of the stories to inspire courage, hope and laughter. They are aimed at children of all ages and their particular needs, but anyone will enjoy reading these vignettes on love, friendship, family, attitude and perspective, death and dying, achieving dreams, overcoming obstacles, choices, tough stuff, and eclectic wisdom. There's a story to touch everyone's heart, er..soul, especially the ones that are written by the children.

Booklist - Ilene Cooper
The offerings range from funny to inspiring to dull to, well, schmaltzy. Although it is doubtful that kids will ask for the book themselves (especially with a title like this), parents, librarians, and teachers will find much here to use as a jumping-off point for discussions on all sorts of questions and problems children face.

Reader Reviews

mike

Awsome book

Autumn

Good book


Jenny

I loved the bobsledder's jacket!!! It shows me that you can trust someone that you don't know!!!!

sharie

this is a great great book..I really like it

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Jack Canfield
More books by Mark Victor Hansen

If you liked Chicken Soup For The Kid's Soul, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.