Jack Canfield biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jack Canfield

Jack Canfield

Jack Canfield Biography

Jack Canfield is a motivational speaker best known as the co-creator of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series (along with co-author Mark Victor Hansen). The series contains nearly 200 titles (2008), with over 112 million copies in print in over 40 languages. He writes a syndicated newspaper column which appears in 150 papers worldwide, and a radio program syndicated throughout North America.

He holds the Guinness Book World Record for having seven books simultaneously on the New York Times Bestseller List (beating out author Stephen King). He has won many awards for his self-help books, coaching skills and speeches. For example, he has been inducted into the National Speakers Association?s Speakers Hall of Fame, is a recipient of the Rotary Club?s Paul Harris Fellowship, is a recipient of the Golden Plate Award from the National Achievement Summit, and received the Chancellor's Medal from the University of Massachusetts. He has also been named Motivator of the Year by the Business Digest twice, received the Speaker of the Year Award from the Society of Success and Leadership and received the National Leadership Award and the Champion's Award from the National Association for Self Esteem.

Canfield was born on August 19, 1944 in Fort Worth, TX. He graduated from the Linsly Military Institute in Wheeling, WV in 1962, received a BA in Chinese History from Harvard in 1966, and in 1973 received an MEd at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He is currently married to his third wife, Inga Marie Mahoney and together they live in California. He has three children from his prior marriages.

Jack Canfield's website

This bio was last updated on 06/16/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jack Canfield at BookBrowse
Chicken Soup For The Preteen Soul jacket Chicken Soup for The Parent's Soul jacket A 6th Bowl of Chicken Soup for the Soul jacket Chicken Soup for the Couple's Soul jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jack Canfield but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 21 similar authors

View all 21 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks


Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Migrations
by Charlotte McConaghy
A breathtaking page-turner and an ode to our threatened world.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Chance Library
    by Freya Sampson

    Fans of libraries and heartfelt, humorous fiction won't want to miss this one!

  • Book Jacket

    A Million Things
    by Emily Spurr

    "An impressively assured debut. A gem of a novel."
    —Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

Win This Book!
Win A Most Clever Girl

A Most Clever Girl by Stephanie Marie Thornton

A thrilling novel of love and espionage, based on the incredible true story of a Cold War double agent.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Run T G

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.