Reviews of The Impossible Us by Sarah Lotz

The Impossible Us

by Sarah Lotz

The Impossible Us by Sarah Lotz X
The Impossible Us by Sarah Lotz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Mar 2022, 496 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In this funny and poignant novel, two strangers learn that their soul mate might be both as close as breath and as distant as a star, from British Fantasy Award recipient Sarah Lotz.

Bee thinks she has everything: a successful business repurposing wedding dresses, and friends who love and support her. She's given up on finding love, but that's fine. There's always Tinder. Nick thinks he has nothing: his writing career has stalled after early promise and his marriage is on the rocks, but that's fine. There's always gin. So when one of Nick's emails, a viciously funny screed intended for a non-paying client, accidentally pings into Bee's inbox, they decide to keep the conversation going. After all, they never have to meet.

But the more they get to know each other, the more Bee and Nick realize they want to. They both notice strange pop culture or political references that crop up in their correspondence, but nothing odd enough to stop Bee and Nick for falling hard for each other. But when their efforts to meet in real life fail spectacularly, Bee and Nick discover that they're actually living in near-identical but parallel worlds. With a universe between them, Bee and Nick will discover how far they'll go to beat impossible odds.

From: NB26@zone.com

To: Bee1984@gmail.com

Subject: What the HELL is wrong with you?

Listen you tight-fisted pea-brained grouse-shooting tweedy twat, you may own half the fucking countryside but you don't own me. You think I like hounding you? You think this is fun for me? But if you think I'm just going to lie back and let you screw me over like you no doubt screw over everyone who comes into your entitled orbit of damp lolling spaniels, vintage Land Rovers and Eton-induced PTSD then you've got another think coming.

DO THE RIGHT THING FOR ONCE IN YOUR BADGER-BAITING FOX-SLAUGHTERING LIFE.

 

From: Bee1984@gmail.com  

To: NB26@zone.com

Subject: What the HELL is wrong with you?  

Hi.  

You might want to double-check the recipient address. Far as I know, I've never owned a Land Rover & have definitely never been to Eton (don't have the right ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The Impossible Us weighs in at well over 500 pages, but the narrative really flies by, in part because a significant portion is composed of Bee and Nick's email exchanges, which are pithy and frequently very funny. The remainder unfolds in short chapters alternating between the two characters' perspectives. Lotz excels at developing a plausible love story, and at exploring the more speculative elements of the plot without getting bogged down in explanations. The story is sure to open readers' hearts and minds to imagining a world, or worlds, of infinite possibilities...continued

Full Review Members Only (560 words).

(Reviewed by Norah Piehl).

Media Reviews

Kirkus (starred review)
Fun, heartbreaking, and eminently readable all at once. Bee and Nick's emails are witty and romantic, while their supporting characters are entertaining in both worlds. Lotz manages to combine romance and science fiction into a book that will produce laughter and tears...A thought-provoking and clever genre-bending blend of romance and science fiction.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Lotz impresses with this witty and gentle sci-fi tale of love across the multiverse...[She] perfectly balances the heavy with the light, and creates a feeling of genuine connection between her protagonists. The eccentric side characters and strong humor meshes nicely with the earnest, tender romance. The result is simply delightful.

Author Blurb Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne
An absolutely addictive read, perfect for fans of Katie Khan. I was swept away by Bee and Nick's impossible love story...and I was utterly hooked from the start. A story that is funny, sweet and full of twists that made it genuinely unputdownable.

Author Blurb Jill Mansell, New York Times bestselling author of And Now You're Back
Have finished reading The Impossible Us by Sarah Lotz and it is indeed amazing…Ingenious and beautifully executed.

Author Blurb Margarita Montimore, USA Today bestselling author of Oona Out of Order
Clever, unexpected, and delightfully twisted—in other words, the perfect love story. The Impossible Us is built on brilliant concept that pushes at the boundaries of convention—and the laws of physics. I loved it in this dimension, and if there are versions of me in alternate dimensions, I'm sure they loved it, too.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

The Mandela Effect

Nelson MandelaIn The Impossible Us, Nick becomes connected with a group calling themselves the Berenstain Society. Their name is inspired by one of the most famous examples of what's popularly known as the Mandela effect. The Mandela effect, according to Medical News Today, "describes a situation in which a person or a group of people have a false memory of an event." The name was coined in 2009 after self-described paranomal consultant Fiona Broome noted on her blog that not only she, but also many other people, had vivid memories of Nelson Mandela dying in a South African jail when he was imprisoned during the apartheid period in the 1980s. Mandela, of course, did not die in prison; he went on to serve as the president of South Africa after his release...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Impossible Us, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.