Summary and book reviews of The Frozen Dead by Bernard Minier

The Frozen Dead

by Bernard Minier

The Frozen Dead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2014, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite

Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Saint-Martin-de-Comminges is a small town nestled in the French Pyrenees. The kind of place where winters are harsh and unforgiving and where nothing ever happens.

Until the winter morning when a group of workers discover the headless, flayed body of a horse, hanging suspended from the edge of a frozen cliff.

On the same day the gruesome discovery takes place, Diane Berg, a young psychiatrist starts her first job at a high-security asylum for the criminally insane, just a few miles away. She is baffled by the slightly unorthodox methods the asylum's director uses, and then greatly alarmed when she realizes that drugs are disappearing from within the fortified institution while someone seems to be slipping out at night.

Commandant Martin Servaz, a charismatic city cop from nearby Toulouse fond of quoting Latin, can't believe he has been called out over the death of an animal. But there's something disturbing about this crime that he can't ignore. Then DNA from one of the most notorious inmates of the asylum, a highly intelligent former prosecutor, accused of killing and raping several women, is found on the horse carcass... and a few days later the first human murder takes place. A dark story of madness and revenge seems to be unfolding.

Servaz and his colleague, the mysterious Irene Ziegler, must use all their skill to solve the terrifying mystery and best one of the most fiendish and clever opponents they could ever imagine.

translator's note

The French justice system is somewhat different from that elsewhere. Under French law, when it is believed that a crime has been committed, an officer of the crime unit will inform the district public prosecutor, who in turn appoints an examining magistrate to the case. Investigations are conducted under the supervision of these magistrates, who answer to the Ministry of Justice. Crimes may be investigated by police commissioners from the crime unit, along with commissioned officers of the gendarmerie.

The Frozen Dead

FROM:
DIANE BERG
GENEVA

TO:
DR WARGNIER
WARGNIER PSYCHIATRIC INSTITUTE
SAINT-MARTIN-DE-COMMINGES

Diane Berg – Curriculum vitae
Psychologist, Swiss Federation of Psychologists (FSP)
Specialist in Forensic Psychology (SSPL)

Date of Birth: 16 July 1976
Nationality: Swiss

Diplomas:
2002: Master of advanced studies in clinical psychology (DES), University of Geneva. Dissertation: 'Instinctual Economy, Necrophilia and Dismembering among ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Every character, is rounded, believable and enjoyable to spend time with. The story is full of all the expected, unexpected twists and revelations of the genre, but every surprise is believable and each player, good and bad, is intriguing to get to know. The novel takes perhaps a little longer than it should, to get going. But once the stage is fully set, and Minier has all his pieces in place, the pace is excellent, the drama every bit as riveting and the climax as nail-biting as any thriller lover could demand.   (Reviewed by Kate Braithwaite).

Full Review Members Only (638 words).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

A high-altitude thriller, this novel is a great summer read for more than the usual reasons.

Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. French author Minier's assured debut adroitly combines a genuinely creepy series of crimes, a literally chilling atmosphere, and a dogged detective.

Booklist

Starred Review. The pervasiveness of evil in this tense and disturbing novel makes for very compelling reading,with the suspense bordering on horror.

The Sunday Times (UK)

Revenge is at the heart of this clever mystery, which involves a plot as cold-blooded as the slaying of the horse

The Daily Mail (UK)

A publishing sensation in France, where it's rushed up the bestseller lists, this is Minier's first crime novel and this translation justifies its vast French reputation.

Literary Review (UK)

This densely written and very atmospheric thriller is Minier's first novel. It has been a bestseller in France and, in this well-translated English edition, deserves to be one here.

Femme Actuelle (France)

The writing is razor sharp and nothing goes to waste. Enough to make other authors jealous.

Le Figaro (France)

Remember the name Bernard Minier... he might well take his place among the masters of French thriller writers.

Le Point (France)

The Frozen Dead is a boiling-hot success.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Controversial Psychiatric Practices

The fictional Wargnier Institute in Bernard Minier's The Frozen Dead is, put simply, "a place where they lock up murderers who've been judged insane." When psychologist Diane Berg learns about the "treatment" programs offered, her fears and concerns escalate. The experience of observing a patient being "evaluated" makes Commander Servaz physically unwell.

Unfamiliar with the world of psychiatric hospitals, I was shocked by the descriptions of electro-convulsive therapy and penile plethysmography (among others), but on investigation found that they are not as uncommon as I had imagined.

Ladislas Meduna Electro-convulsive Therapy (ECT) – using electric shocks to treat psychiatric disorders in patients — was first introduced by ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Frozen Dead, try these:

  • Redemption Road jacket

    Redemption Road

    by John Hart

    Published 2016

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Over 2 million copies of his books in print. The first and only author to win back-to-back Edgars for Best Novel. Every book a New York Times bestseller. After five years, John Hart is back.

  • The Lightkeepers jacket

    The Lightkeepers

    by Abby Geni

    Published 2016

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A debut novel from a talented and provocative new writer which upends the traditional structure of a mystery novel while also exploring wider themes of the natural world, the power of loss, and the nature of recovery.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.