BookBrowse Reviews The Frozen Dead by Bernard Minier

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Frozen Dead

by Bernard Minier

The Frozen Dead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2014, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2015, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Icy mountainous landscapes and a host of well-rounded characters elevate this gripping story beyond the parameters of a standard-issue police procedural.

In this debut crime thriller, French novelist Bernard Minier has created a dramatic hunt for a serial killer in a snow-filled valley, deep in the Pyrenees. From its eerie opening — a cable car ride where the wind wails "like the cries of children in distress" — The Frozen Dead simmers with tension.

The discovery of the headless corpse of a thoroughbred racehorse suspended from a cable car tower, sparks a police response that surprises Toulouse-based detective, Commandant Servaz, until he learns that the animal belongs to one of the world's premier businessmen, Eric Lombard. Forensic evidence links the crime to an inmate at the nearby Wargnier Institute, a fictional psychiatric hospital housing murderers who have been judged insane, and prompts a complete lock-down of the facility. A local man is found murdered only days later, dealing Servaz a new case and links ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.