Summary and book reviews of Prospero Regained by L. Jagi Lamplighter

Prospero Regained

Book 3

by L. Jagi Lamplighter

Prospero Regained by L. Jagi Lamplighter X
Prospero Regained by L. Jagi Lamplighter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2011, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2013, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Prospero, the sorcerer on whose island of exile William Shakespeare set his play, The Tempest, has been captured and imprisoned in Hell, and time is running out for his daughter Miranda and for the great magician himself.

Prospero, the sorcerer on whose island of exile William Shakespeare set his play, The Tempest, has endured these past many centuries. His daughter Miranda runs the family business, Prospero, Inc. so smoothly that the vast majority of humanity has no idea that the Prosperos' magic has protected Earth from numerous disasters. But Prospero himself has been kidnapped by demons from Hell, and Miranda, aided by her siblings, has followed her father into Hell to save him from a certain doom at the hands of vengeful demons. Time is running out for Miranda, and for the great magician himself. Their battle against the most terrifying forces of the Pit is a great fantasy adventure.

Chapter One: Once More Back into the Swamp

"What we need now is a cheer weasel!" My brother Erasmus pulled his boot out of the thick ooze with a sucking pop. Mud spattered across his dark green breeches, his justaucorps, and the hem of Mab's trench coat. Erasmus winced. "Sorry about that, Company Detective. This not-letting-go-of-each-other business makes things rather cramped." He lifted Mab's right hand, which he held in his own. "Still, beats being led astray by demonic illusions, I suppose."

"What in Tarna..." Mab muttered in his Bronx accent. He glanced nervously at the infernal landscape that stretched around us in all directions: the dreary swamps, the cypresses dripping with dead moss, the lurid red sky, the Wall of Flame burning in the far distance. His left palm, slick with sweat, was slippery in my grasp. "What in Creation is a 'cheer weasel?'"

"It's something Mephisto says when people are glum: 'Nothing a good whack with a cheer weasel won't fix!'" Erasmus ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

To fully enjoy Prospero Regained, the reader really must read the whole series in order. That should not present a problem for those who already enjoy fantasy fiction because for us, 1100 pages is no hardship. That said, if a reader has contemplated dipping into the fantasy genre for the first time, he or she would be well introduced by Lamplighter's books. It is also my opinion that these books will appeal most to a female readership. Underlying the suspense, adventure, and mystery in this tale is a strong sense of hope for mankind and the world, drawn from a deep well of mythological and centuries-old religious wisdom. I can't say it will last beyond the next horrible event I encounter, but I finished these books with much of my faith in mankind - and in the power of personal integrity - restored.   (Reviewed by Judy Krueger).

Full Review (593 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

Media Reviews

Booklist
Unfortunately, despite the urgency of the rescue mission, the pace of this installment often drags...

Publishers Weekly
This is intricate, intellectual fantasy at its best - with bonus 'invisible beams of unicorn love.'

Shelf Awareness
Unfortunately, this isn't a story you can jump into mid-stream: although Lamplighter recaps as much of the previous two novels as she can without dragging everything to a complete halt, there's only so much internal monologues and "let's go over what we've learned so far" conversations can cover. To fully appreciate the magnitude of Miranda's dramatic transformation over the course of Prospero Regained, readers need the earlier books - but for contemporary fantasy fans who enjoy a healthy dose of the epic, that won't be much of a burden.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. It's sad but satisfying to bid goodbye to the colorful Prospero family.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

L. Jagi Lamplighter

L.Jagi Lamplighter L. Jagi Lamplighter spent 15 years writing, re-writing, and revising her Prospero's Daughter trilogy before the first volume was published in 2009. In an article entitled "A Writer's Odyssey," she describes her journey from hopeful writer to published author. Another article, "All About the Wonder," explains why Ms. Lamplighter writes fantasy. She explains:

Fantasy can do anything, go anywhere, occur in any milieu. It can take place in your back yard, in the ancient past, on the moon, in another dimension - the nature and laws of which can be anything you imagine. It can be frightening, romantic, mysterious, filled with intriguing factoids. But there is one thing fantasy does better than any other genre, and that is wonder.

The ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by L. Jagi Lamplighter

If you liked Prospero Regained, try these:

  • Circe jacket

    Circe

    by Madeline Miller

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Winner of the 2018 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    The daring, dazzling and highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller The Song of Achilles.

  • Marley jacket

    Marley

    by Jon Clinch

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More books by this author

    From the acclaimed author of the "marvel of a novel" (Entertainment Weekly) Finn comes a masterful reimagining of Charles Dickens's classic A Christmas Carol with this darkly entertaining and moving exploration of the twisted relationship between Ebenezer Scrooge and Jacob Marley.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.