L. Jagi Lamplighter: Background information when reading Prospero Regained

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Prospero Regained

Book 3

by L. Jagi Lamplighter

Prospero Regained by L. Jagi Lamplighter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2011, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2013, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
L. Jagi Lamplighter

Print Review

L.Jagi Lamplighter L. Jagi Lamplighter spent 15 years writing, re-writing, and revising her Prospero's Daughter trilogy before the first volume was published in 2009. In an article entitled "A Writer's Odyssey," she describes her journey from hopeful writer to published author. Another article, "All About the Wonder," explains why Ms. Lamplighter writes fantasy. She explains:

Fantasy can do anything, go anywhere, occur in any milieu. It can take place in your back yard, in the ancient past, on the moon, in another dimension - the nature and laws of which can be anything you imagine. It can be frightening, romantic, mysterious, filled with intriguing factoids. But there is one thing fantasy does better than any other genre, and that is wonder.

The Prospero's Daughter trilogy is full of a staggering wealth of historical, mythical, and supernatural creatures, and religious lore from many centuries ago. Guessing that she did not just look this stuff up on the Internet, I sent Ms. Lamplighter an email asking: "How did you learn so much about all those gods, goddesses, mythical creatures, etc?" Her answer:

I love both fairy tales and myths. I have been reading them since I was a child. So I've kind of steeped in them, like well-brewed tea.

I've read semi-anthropological sources as well, like
The Golden Bough and The White Goddess and Bullfinch's Mythology. I also went through a period when I spent a year studying, on my own, mythologies from all over the world - which is one reason that, in the Prospero background, each section of the world has mythological creatures appropriate to that culture.

In addition, the Prospero books are based in part on a roleplaying game run by my husband, sci-fi/fantasy author John C. Wright. He, too, is a fan of myths. So he and I have learned a great deal from each other...

My idea for the Prospero books was that the story took place "in the real world". What I mean by that is this: Many stories pick a particular mythology - Norse mythology, Greek mythology, American Indian, etc. - then they say 'this mythos is real in my fantasy world, and the rest of them don't exist.'

But, in our real world, they are all there: Norse, Egyptian, Hindu, American Indian, Polynesian, Christian, Jewish, etc. My idea for Miranda's world was that all the things we know in our real world are there in her world as well, living among each other in an uneasy sort of alliance.

Interview conducted by Judy Krueger.

Article by Judy Krueger

This article was originally published in November 2011, and has been updated for the December 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.