Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Inevitable by David Shields

The Inevitable

Contemporary Writers Confront Death

by David Shields, Bradford Morrow

The Inevitable by David Shields, Bradford Morrow X
The Inevitable by David Shields, Bradford Morrow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

What is death and how does it touch upon life? Twenty writers look for answers.

Birth is not inevitable. Life certainly isn't. The sole inevitability of existence, the only sure consequence of being alive, is death. In these eloquent and surprising essays, twenty writers face this fact, among them Geoff Dyer, who describes the ghost bikes memorializing those who die in biking accidents; Jonathan Safran Foer, proposing a new way of punctuating dialogue in the face of a family history of heart attacks and decimation by the Holocaust; Mark Doty, whose reflections on the art-porn movie Bijou lead to a meditation on the intersection of sex and death epitomized by the AIDS epidemic; and Joyce Carol Oates, who writes about the loss of her husband and faces her own mortality. Other contributors include Annie Dillard, Diane Ackerman, Peter Straub, and Brenda Hillman.

CONTENTS

  1. DAVID SHIELDS and BRADFORD MORROW | Introduction
  2. DAVID GATES | Death Watch
  3. KYOKO MORI | Between the Forest and the Well: Notes on Death
  4. ROBERT CLARK | Bayham Street
  5. SALLIE TISDALE | The Sutra of Maggots and Blowflies
  6. JONATHAN SAFRAN FOER | A Primer for the Punctuation of Heart Disease
  7. DIANE ACKERMAN | Silence and Awakening
  8. MELISSA PRITCHARD | A Solemn Pleasure
  9. CHRISTOPHER SORRENTINO | Death in the Age of Digital Proliferation, and Other Considerations
  10. JOYCE CAROL OATES | The Siege
  11. ROBIN HEMLEY | Field Notes for the Graveyard Enthusiast
  12. PETER STRAUB | Inside Story
  13. KEVIN BAKER | Invitation to the Dance
  14. MARGO JEFFERSON | Death in Negroland
  15. GREG BOTTOMS | Grace Street
  16. LYNNE TILLMAN | The Final Plot
  17. LANCE OLSEN | Lessness
  18. MARK DOTY | Bijou
  19. BRENDA HILLMAN | Cézanne's Colors
  20. GEOFF DYER | What Will Survive of Us
  21. ANNIE DILLARD | ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Editors David Shields and Bradford Morrow have put together a heavy but thoroughly interesting collection of essays in The Inevitable: Contemporary Writers Confront Death. I was genuinely surprised by the uniqueness of the authors' experiences of death; it is encountered in an array of different ways, is interpreted differently, and means different things to people of varying cultures. That element - that intriguing difference - is what I found most compelling about this collection. Death is the one and only thing that all living beings have in common, and yet it is so personal. The level of thinking and, moreover, the level of writing in this collection is excellent.....continued

Full Review (555 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Elena Spagnolie).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. A wonderfully speculative patchwork quilt on the meaning of life and death.

Library Journal
[P]oignant, heartfelt essays...[S]eriously considered, highly literate analyses...raise the bar for more philosophical readers searching for alternatives to age-old traditions perpetuated in religious dogma.

Publishers Weekly
Often poetic and at times funny or gruesome while exposing raw grief, the writers...tackle the subject of death with honesty and courage.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Contributing Authors in The Inevitable
Editors David Shields and Bradford Morrow selected an exquisite group of authors for their collection of essays entitled The Inevitable: Contemporary Writers Confront Death, and the unique assortment certainly accounts for the diversity of the essays themselves. Below is a list of the contributing authors with links to bios, interviews and photos:

David Shields
Bradford Morrow
David Gates
Kyoki Mori
Robert Clark
Sallie Tisdale
Jonathan Safran Foer
Diane Ackerman
Melissa Pritchard
Christopher Sorrentino
Joyce Carol Oates
Robin Hemley
Peter Straub
Kevin Baker
Margo Jefferson
Greg Bottoms
Lynne Tillman
Lance Olsen
Mark Doty
Brenda Hillman
Geoff Dyer
Annie Dillard

If you're ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Inevitable, try these:

  • Ninety-Nine Stories of God jacket

    Ninety-Nine Stories of God

    by Joy Williams

    Published 2018

    About this book

    More by this author

    From "quite possibly America's best living writer of short stories" (NPR), Ninety-Nine Stories of God finds Joy Williams reeling between the sublime and the surreal, knocking down the barriers between the workaday and the divine.

  • Enon jacket

    Enon

    by Paul Harding

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    A stunning mosaic of human experience, Enon affirms Paul Harding as one of the most gifted and profound writers of his generation.

We have 11 read-alikes for The Inevitable, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Bradford Morrow
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.