Summary and book reviews of The Inevitable by David Shields

The Inevitable

Contemporary Writers Confront Death

by David Shields, Bradford Morrow

The Inevitable by David Shields, Bradford Morrow X
The Inevitable by David Shields, Bradford Morrow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

What is death and how does it touch upon life? Twenty writers look for answers.

Birth is not inevitable. Life certainly isn't. The sole inevitability of existence, the only sure consequence of being alive, is death. In these eloquent and surprising essays, twenty writers face this fact, among them Geoff Dyer, who describes the ghost bikes memorializing those who die in biking accidents; Jonathan Safran Foer, proposing a new way of punctuating dialogue in the face of a family history of heart attacks and decimation by the Holocaust; Mark Doty, whose reflections on the art-porn movie Bijou lead to a meditation on the intersection of sex and death epitomized by the AIDS epidemic; and Joyce Carol Oates, who writes about the loss of her husband and faces her own mortality. Other contributors include Annie Dillard, Diane Ackerman, Peter Straub, and Brenda Hillman.

CONTENTS

  1. DAVID SHIELDS and BRADFORD MORROW | Introduction
  2. DAVID GATES | Death Watch
  3. KYOKO MORI | Between the Forest and the Well: Notes on Death
  4. ROBERT CLARK | Bayham Street
  5. SALLIE TISDALE | The Sutra of Maggots and Blowflies
  6. JONATHAN SAFRAN FOER | A Primer for the Punctuation of Heart Disease
  7. DIANE ACKERMAN | Silence and Awakening
  8. MELISSA PRITCHARD | A Solemn Pleasure
  9. CHRISTOPHER SORRENTINO | Death in the Age of Digital Proliferation, and Other Considerations
  10. JOYCE CAROL OATES | The Siege
  11. ROBIN HEMLEY | Field Notes for the Graveyard Enthusiast
  12. PETER STRAUB | Inside Story
  13. KEVIN BAKER | Invitation to the Dance
  14. MARGO JEFFERSON | Death in Negroland
  15. GREG BOTTOMS | Grace Street
  16. LYNNE TILLMAN | The Final Plot
  17. LANCE OLSEN | Lessness
  18. MARK DOTY | Bijou
  19. BRENDA HILLMAN | Cézanne's Colors
  20. GEOFF DYER | What Will Survive of Us
  21. ANNIE DILLARD | ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Editors David Shields and Bradford Morrow have put together a heavy but thoroughly interesting collection of essays in The Inevitable: Contemporary Writers Confront Death. I was genuinely surprised by the uniqueness of the authors' experiences of death; it is encountered in an array of different ways, is interpreted differently, and means different things to people of varying cultures. That element - that intriguing difference - is what I found most compelling about this collection. Death is the one and only thing that all living beings have in common, and yet it is so personal. The level of thinking and, moreover, the level of writing in this collection is excellent...   (Reviewed by Elena Spagnolie).

Full Review (555 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Often poetic and at times funny or gruesome while exposing raw grief, the writers...tackle the subject of death with honesty and courage.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. A wonderfully speculative patchwork quilt on the meaning of life and death.

Library Journal
[P]oignant, heartfelt essays...[S]eriously considered, highly literate analyses...raise the bar for more philosophical readers searching for alternatives to age-old traditions perpetuated in religious dogma.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Contributing Authors in The Inevitable

Editors David Shields and Bradford Morrow selected an exquisite group of authors for their collection of essays entitled The Inevitable: Contemporary Writers Confront Death, and the unique assortment certainly accounts for the diversity of the essays themselves. Below is a list of the contributing authors with links to bios, interviews and photos:

David Shields
Bradford Morrow
David Gates
Kyoki Mori
Robert Clark
Sallie Tisdale
Jonathan Safran Foer
Diane Ackerman
Melissa Pritchard
Christopher Sorrentino
Joyce Carol Oates
Robin Hemley
Peter Straub
Kevin Baker
Margo Jefferson
Greg Bottoms
Lynne Tillman
Lance Olsen
Mark Doty
Brenda Hillman
Geoff Dyer
Annie Dillard

If you're interested in exploring more books on ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Bradford Morrow

If you liked The Inevitable, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.