BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Inevitable by David Shields, Bradford Morrow

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Inevitable by David Shields, Bradford Morrow

The Inevitable

Contemporary Writers Confront Death

by David Shields, Bradford Morrow
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
  • Feb 2011
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An eclectic collection of essays on death and dying by great contemporary writers

Editors David Shields and Bradford Morrow have put together a heavy but thoroughly interesting collection of essays in The Inevitable: Contemporary Writers Confront Death. Before opening the book, I had expectations about what death would look like in these essays - a somber funeral, the confusion of having lost someone, or perhaps a rumination on emptiness and loss. And while these elements are present, I was also genuinely surprised by the uniqueness of the authors' experiences of death; it is encountered in an array of different ways, is interpreted differently, and means different things to people of varying cultures. That element - that intriguing difference - is what I found most compelling about this collection. Death is the one and only thing that all living beings have in common, and yet it is so personal.

As an example, in her essay "The Sutra of Maggots and Blowflies," Sallie Tisdale gives an unlikely and rather taxonomical account of her fascination with flies and how they relate to her understanding of Buddhism. She writes, "The Buddha taught that nothing is permanent...It means that all things are compounded and will dissolve....I study how flies use the world - how they make something of it that wasn't there before. They liquify the dead, they slurp up the world...They shoot out of lakes and the ground and out of bodies, joyous, filled with air." And just a few dozen pages away, in an essay entitled "Bijou," Mark Doty contemplates a pornographic movie and the spread of AIDS in the 1970s and 1980s. While, in Kevin Baker's gripping essay, "Invitations to the Dance", he waits for test results indicating whether or not he has Huntington's disease, the very same incurable disease that ravaged his mother's brain.

The level of thinking and, moreover, the level of writing in this collection is excellent. These essayists discuss death, but they also get at the heart of illness, racism, trauma and shame. They speak candidly about not actually knowing anything about death, that it is an inexpressible, inconceivable reality to the living. As Lance Olsen eloquently states, "...the only real closures come in mimetic fiction and memoir, redemption and faux wisdom hardened into commodity. Like an order of Arby's Cheesecake Poppers." And Lynne Tillman theorizes, "Of death, mortals are absolutely ignorant. The dead, fortunately, are beyond caring."

In fact, I'd say that this is one thing they all have in common - each writer tries to describe what they do know in the face of uncertainty, and interestingly, most of them look to other writers as a way of understanding: Woolf, James, Dickens, Dostoevsky, Shakespeare...the list goes on and on. They are united in that death is the one experience they will never write about. For example, Kyoki Mori explains, "Death means having no more thoughts to understand or express in words. How can I imagine not having words when that very imagining must occur in words as long as I am alive?"

The Inevitable is an engaging book and is, at times, quite serious, and for that reason, I would suggest giving yourself plenty of time to savor the writing, to ruminate over questions posed by the writers. In some instances, the essays are so incredible they read like fiction, and are sure to be well worth a reader's while. I highly recommend this book.

Reviewed by Elena Spagnolie

This review first ran in the March 9, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Inevitable, try these:

  • Ninety-Nine Stories of God jacket

    Ninety-Nine Stories of God

    by Joy Williams

    Published 2018

    About This book

    More by this author

    From "quite possibly America's best living writer of short stories" (NPR), Ninety-Nine Stories of God finds Joy Williams reeling between the sublime and the surreal, knocking down the barriers between the workaday and the divine.

  • Enon jacket

    Enon

    by Paul Harding

    Published 2014

    About This book

    More by this author

    A stunning mosaic of human experience, Enon affirms Paul Harding as one of the most gifted and profound writers of his generation.

We have 11 read-alikes for The Inevitable, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Bradford Morrow
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.