Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Kiki Strike by Kirsten Miller

Kiki Strike

Inside the Shadow City

by Kirsten Miller

Kiki Strike by Kirsten Miller X
Kiki Strike by Kirsten Miller
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 250 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2007, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

When Ananka Fishbein she ventures into an enormous sinkhole near her New York City apartment. She discovers a million rats, delinquent Girl Scouts out for revenge, and a secret city below the streets of Manhattan.

Life will never be the same for Ananka Fishbein after she ventures into an enormous sinkhole near her New York City apartment. A million rats, delinquent Girl Scouts out for revenge, and a secret city below the streets of Manhattan combine in this remarkable novel about a darker side of New York City you have only just begun to know about…

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

By taking the time to open this book, you’ve become a member of a very elite group: The Curious. I can’t tell you how pleased I am that we’ve found each other. As you must have noticed, there aren’t many of us around.

Contained on these pages is a true account of my first adventure with the legendary Kiki Strike. If you’re looking for a thrilling story to keep you entertained on those rainy days when you have nothing better to do, it should serve that purpose quite nicely. But if you’re interested in learning a few essential skills along the way, all the better. Of course, I’m not speaking of the kind of skills you’re likely to learn in any classroom. Hopefully, I’ll be able to provide you with an altogether more useful education.

Happy Reading,
Ananka Fishbein

CHAPTER ONE: The Shadow City

Until the age of twelve, I led what most people would consider a unexceptional life. My activities...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Miller's fast moving, streamlined writing style draws girls into the first volume of this planned series which offers courage and derring-do in abundance...continued

Full Review (450 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

Booklist
*Starred Review* Gr. 5-8. While some discerning readers may complain that the conclusion is too quick and tidy, readers will welcome the hints of sequels, all hopefully narrated by Ananka, the most intriguing and carefully developed of Miller's characters.

Kirkus Reviews
An absurdly satisfying romp for disaffected smart girl, with hints of more to come.

Publishers Weekly
Deliciously entertaining debut novel... the author's love for New York's nooks and crannies shines from every page, making this a rare adventure story.

School Library Journal
Kiki Strike celebrates the courage and daring of seemingly ordinary girls, and it will thrill those who long for adventure and excitement.

Reader Reviews

Kimi

Excellant
Kiki Strike is my favorite book. I recommend it to anyone who loves mysteries, action, and spy books, because it is a perfect combination of all three. The original is better than the sequel, but they are both really good. I could read Kiki Strike ...   Read More
Em

Talk about a Page Turner
Not only does Kirstin Miller make you LOVE & HATE Kiki Strike the character, she also makes you want to be there and think of all there plans and the next step they should take. Making the characters not the stereo-type girl power girls, she gives ...   Read More
indigo york

kiki strike book reveiw
Anaka Fishbean is a thirteen year old girl. She lives with her parents in a flat in New York City. When an enormous sinkhole appears in the park across from her home it’s only the start of her adventures. When she discovers and underground room she ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Kirsten Miller works in advertising in New York. She says that the idea for Kiki Strike did not come to her all at once, but that Kiki was the first character to arrive, because she loved the idea of a young, female mastermind who lived by her own set of rules (not all of them good). Then, in 2001, she heard about the front lawn of a nursing home in Manhattan that had collapsed revealing the forgotten basement of a building that had been torn down eighty years before; the room was complete with tables, chairs and even wall decorations. This was one of the events that triggered Miller's fascination with the many other tunnels and hidden rooms under New York, which inspired her to create the Shadow City.

"I wanted to ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Kiki Strike, try these:

  • Goodbye Stranger jacket

    Goodbye Stranger

    by Rebecca Stead

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of the 2015 BookBrowse Award for Best Young Adult Novel

    This brilliant novel by Newbery Medal winner Rebecca Stead explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship.

  • The Night Tourist jacket

    The Night Tourist

    by Katherine Marsh

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    After an accident, Jack Perdu, a shy, ninth-grade Classics prodigy, is sent to a mysterious doctor in New York City. While there he meets Jack meets Euri, a young girl who offers to show him the secrets of Grand Central Station, with whom he explores New York’s ghostly underworld.

We have 6 read-alikes for Kiki Strike, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Kirsten Miller
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.