Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Seeker by William Nicholson

Seeker

Book One Of The Noble Warriors

by William Nicholson

Seeker by William Nicholson X
Seeker by William Nicholson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2006, 432 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2007, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A coming-of-age story about courage, friendship, desire, and faith.

This first novel in the Noble Warriors sequence begins when sixteen-year-old Seeker's older brother is publicly humiliated and - with no explanation - exiled from the Nomana, a revered order of warrior monks. Seeker refuses to believe that his beloved older brother is capable of committing a betrayal that would warrant such severe consequences, so he sets off alone on a journey to rescue his brother and find out at last what really happened.

Along the way he meets two other young people who are on quests of their own, and in a shocking turn of events, the three are soon caught up in a harrowing and bloody race to save the Nomana - and themselves - from destruction.

An epic coming-of-age story about courage, friendship, desire, and faith, Seeker marks the beginning of a riveting new series.

Sunrise

Seeker woke earlier than usual, long before dawn, and lay in the darkness thinking about the day ahead. It was high summer, with less than a week to go before the longest day of the year. In school it was the day of the monthly ­test.

And it was his sixteenth ­birthday.

Unable to sleep, he rose and dressed quietly so as not to wake his parents, and went out into the silent street. By the light of the stars, he made his way to the steps that zigzagged up the steep hillside, and began to climb. As he did so he watched the eastern sky, and saw there the first pale silver gleams on the horizon that heralded the coming ­dawn.

He had decided to watch the sun ­rise.

At the top of the steps the path flattened out and led into the stone­-­flagged Nom square. To his right rose the great dark mass of the Nom, the castle­-­monastery that dominated the island; to his left, the avenue of old ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The storyline is familiar: Boy consigned to boring life seeks adventure, discovers that (despite the fact that his family never thought him up to much) he's actually the chosen one who's destined to save his world from imminent destruction, meets traveling companions (including capable and determined female) and sets off on quest. However, as we all know, it's not what you tell, it's the way you tell it, and William Nicholson tells a very good story, one that will keep the 12+ age group reading long after bedtime...continued

Full Review (259 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

The Guardian (UK)
.... A timeless piece of storytelling, unencumbered by being shackled too closely to our own world.

All trilogies pose a challenge for the author - how to close the story's arc in one volume while leaving enough open to drive the narrative into the next. Seeker achieves an admirable balance, and while the exploits in Anacrea and Radiance close satisfyingly, Seeker's true adventure is still to come.

Children's Literature
At times Nicholson's story relies a tad too much on coincidence, but the characters are interesting, flawed, and courageous.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

William Nicholson lives in Sussex in the South of England with his wife, Virginia, and their three children. He has written two books for adults, The Society of Others (very good IMHO) and The Trial of True Love (not so good), and The Wind Singer - a trilogy for children that received very strong reviews and won two prestigious UK Awards (the Smarties Gold Award and the Blue Peter Book of the Year 2001 - the former being a very popular chocolate candy similar to M&Ms, the latter being a very popular long-running BBC program for children).

He has also written many TV dramas, including Shadowlands (the life of CS Lewis). His adaptation of Shadowlands for the stage won the Evening Standard Best Play of 1990 and went on ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Seeker, try these:

  • Mockingjay jacket

    Mockingjay

    by Suzanne Collins

    Published 2010

    About this book

    More by this author

    Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

  • The Night Tourist jacket

    The Night Tourist

    by Katherine Marsh

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    After an accident, Jack Perdu, a shy, ninth-grade Classics prodigy, is sent to a mysterious doctor in New York City. While there he meets Jack meets Euri, a young girl who offers to show him the secrets of Grand Central Station, with whom he explores New York’s ghostly underworld.

We have 8 read-alikes for Seeker, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by William Nicholson
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.