BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Reviews of Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception

by Eoin Colfer
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • May 1, 2005
  • Paperback:
  • Apr 2006
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Book Summary

Criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl is back . . . and so is his brilliant and dangerous enemy, Opal Koboi. For ages 9+.

Criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl is back . . . and so is his brilliant and dangerous enemy, Opal Koboi. At the start of the fourth adventure in the Artemis series, The Opal Deception, Artemis has no memory of the fairy people and has returned to his unlawful ways. He is preparing to steal a famous Impressionist painting from a German bank, having no idea that his old rival, Opal, has escaped from prison by cloning herself. She’s left her double behind in jail and, now free, is exacting her revenge on all those who put her there, including Artemis.

Meanwhile in the Lower Elements, Opal has planted a trap for Captain Holly Short and Commander Root of the LEPrechon fairy police. Tragedy ensues, and Holly is framed for a heinous crime she did not commit. Instead of staying around to defend herself, Holly rushes to the surface to rescue Artemis. But before Holly and Artemis can get away, Opal arrives and abducts them both. Faced with a world he does not believe in, Artemis may have finally been outsmarted. . .

Prologue

This article was posted on the fairy internet on the site www.horsesense.gnom. Though it has never been proven, it is believed that this site is maintained by the centaur Foaly, technical consultant to the Lower Elements Police. Almost every detail of the following account contradicts the official release from the LEP Press Office.

We've all heard the official explanation for the tragic events surrounding the Zito Probe investigation. LEP Internal Affairs would have us believe that one of their officers was almost singlehandedly responsible for the entire affair. I am posting this article to ensure that you do not rush to judgement without all the facts. The LEP may be able to silence their officers, but they cannot censor me.

I know for an absolute fact that the officer in question, Captain Holly Short, did not commit the despicable crime she is accused of, and by the time you have finished reading this account, you will know it too.

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

..continued

Full Review (219 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

Children's Literature - Kathie M. Josephs
The author is very adept at weaving humor throughout the story and readers will be hard pressed to put the book down once they have started to read it....I highly recommend this book. I am sure if readers are already Artemis Fowl fans, they will put his book at the top of the list of favorites. Ages 12 up.

Booklist - Sally Estes
As in all the books, this one has plenty of action as well as great humor and clever plot manipulations. Characters are once again fully realized, and fans will eagerly enter into the spirit of the action.

School Library Journal - Farida S Dowler
Gr 5-7. The prose is clunky and the characters speak in cliches, but those who enjoyed the earlier books won't care. The humor (heavily dosed with flatulence jokes) and creativity carry the narrative through the tight spots and impossible situations.

Reader Reviews

jester

artemis fowl: the opal deception
You may get confused by this book but that's the point. The author gets you confused, then he'll throw a surprise at you, which makes it good book. This book is more on the side of fiction and fairy tales which is personally my favorite because it ...   Read More
andy

leaves you hangn'
Step by step. It will leave you hanging every turn, every action, every chapter. even the end wanted me to read the next book. The epilogue especially left me hanging.
Joshua B

Spectacular series
When you read the series you become attached to all the characters and no matter what age you are, you WILL enjoy this fabulous series! I am in grade 11 and I absolutely love the series and its only getting better. I can't wait to read Colfers other ...   Read More
Commander Root

Opal Deception
I love this book I first got started in them when we went to Fairfield mountains for our vacation, we listened to The Lost Colony on sound recording, it is a good book, along with the other Artemis Fowl books. Trust me this book is worth it's money!!...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book



Eoin Colfer (pronounced Owen) was born in Wexford on the South-East coast of Ireland in 1965, where he and his four brothers were brought up by his father (an elementary school teacher, historian and artist of note) and mother (a drama teacher).  He first developed an interest in writing in primary (elementary) school with gripping Viking stories inspired by history he was learning in school at the time! 

After leaving school he got his degree from Dublin university and qualified as a primary school teacher, returning to work in Wexford.  He married in 1991 and he and his wife spent about  4 years between 1992 and 1996 working in Saudi Arabia, Tunisia and Italy.  His first book, Benny and Omar, ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception, try these:

  • Runemarks jacket

    Runemarks

    by Joanne Harris

    Published 2009

    About this book

    More by this author

    Master storyteller Joanne Harris has created a magical and epic romp– a fresh, funny, and wonderfully irreverent new take on the old Norse tales, sure to be enjoyed by readers young and old.

  • The New Policeman jacket

    The New Policeman

    by Kate Thompson

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    An enchanting tale of heart-stopping music, magic, enchantment, and time passing to quickly; set in Ireland. For ages 10+.

We have 9 read-alikes for Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Eoin Colfer
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter