Eoin Colfer biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Eoin Colfer

Eoin Colfer

How to pronounce Eoin Colfer: Owen COLfer (Eoin is a very old Irish name, rarely used outside Ireland with this spelling)

Eoin Colfer Biography

Eoin Colfer (pronounced Owen) was born in Wexford on the South-East coast of Ireland in 1965, where he and his four brothers were brought up by his father (an elementary school teacher, historian and artist of note) and mother (a drama teacher).  He first developed an interest in writing in primary (elementary) school with gripping Viking stories inspired by history he was learning in school at the time! 

After leaving school he got his degree from Dublin university and qualified as a primary school teacher, returning to work in Wexford.  He married in 1991 and he and his wife spent about  4 years between 1992 and 1996 working in Saudi Arabia, Tunisia and Italy.  His first book, Benny and Omar, was published in 1998, based on his experiences in Tunisia; it has since been translated into many languages.  A sequel followed in 1999, followed by some other books (see below). Then in 2001 the first Artemis Fowl book was published and he was able to resign from teaching and concentrate fully on writing. 

He says, "I will keep writing until people stop reading or I run out of ideas. Hopefully neither of these will happen anytime soon. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

Partial Bibliography
Benny and Omar (1998)
Benny and Babe (1999)
Going Potty (1999)
The Wish List (2000)
Ed's Funny Feet (2000)
Ed's Bed (2001)
Artemis Fowl (2001)
Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident (2002)
Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code (2003)
The Legend of Spud Murphy (2004)
The Supernaturalist (2004)
Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception (2005)
The Legend of Captain Crow's Teeth (2005)
Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony (Sept 2006)
The Legend of..., Book 3 (Oct 2006)

Eoin Colfer's website

This bio was last updated on 07/30/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Eoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl series and the 6th installment to the late Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series, And Another Thing.

This is a transcription from TheAuthorHour radio show. For additional questions not asked during the live show, visit TheAuthorHour

Matthew: My guest today is Eoin Colfer, international best selling author of the Artemis Fowl Series, which won the British Children's Book of the Year Award and has sold over 18 million copies. He's also the author of Half Moon Investigations, which was the basis for a TV series this year, plus the Supernaturalist and Airman. Eoin's latest book is the highly anticipated 6th installment to the late Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series and is called And Another Thing. Thanks for being on the show today Eoin.

Eoin: You're welcome Matthew, my pleasure.

Matthew: Now, before we get into the Hitchhiker's book, let's first talk about the Artemis Fowl series, real quick.

Eoin: Yeah.

Matthew: Those books have won a slew of awards, all of them have hit the New York Times Bestseller list, and they've been translated into dozens of languages, but like most authors you struggled at the beginning of your writing career to make a name for yourself, didn't you?

Eoin: I did, I mean I started when I was a young man, back in my early 20s. I'd just ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Eoin Colfer at BookBrowse
Reluctant Assassin jacket Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian jacket Plugged jacket And Another Thing... jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Eoin Colfer but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Story of Arthur Truluv
    The Story of Arthur Truluv
    by Elizabeth Berg
    Elizabeth Berg's heartwarming novel scored an an impressive 4.4 average rating from the 48 members ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Ballad
    The Last Ballad
    by Wiley Cash
    Ella May WigginsA hundred years ago or so, farming land west of Charlotte, North Carolina was given over to giant ...
  • Book Jacket: Future Home of the Living God
    Future Home of the Living God
    by Louise Erdrich
    Louise Erdrich began Future Home of the Living God in 2002, set it aside, and picked it up again in ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers

At once a love story, a history lesson and a beautifully written tale of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Wonder Valley
    by Ivy Pochoda

    A visionary and masterful portrait of contemporary L.A. from the author of Visitation Street.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E Dog H I D

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.