MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

A Hat Full of Sky

by Terry Pratchett

A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett X
A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2004, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2005, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Tiffany Aching, a young witch-in-training, learns about magic and responsibility as she battles a disembodied monster with the assistance of the six-inch-high Wee Free Men and Mistress Weatherwax, the greatest witch in the world.  Ages 12+.

The Heroine: Tiffany Aching, incipient witch and cheese maker extraordinaire. Once saved world from Queen of the Elves. Is about to discover that battling evil monarchs is child's play compared to mortal combat with a Hiver (see below). At eleven years old, is boldest heroine ever to have confronted the Forces of Darkness while armed with a frying pan.

The Threat:
A Hiver, insidious disembodied presence drawn to powerful magic. highly dangerous, frequently lethal. Cannot be stopped with iron or fire. Its target: Tiffany Aching (see above).

The Nac Mac Feegle:
A.k.a. the Wee Free Men. Height: six inches. Color: blue. Famed for drinking, stealing, and fighting. Will attack anything larger than themselves. Members include: Rob Anybody, Daft Wullie, and Awfully Wee Billy Bigchin. Allies to Tiffany Aching (see above).

The Book:
Hilarious, breathtaking, spine-tingling sequel to the acclaimed Wee Free Men.

The Author:
Terry Pratchett, celebrated creator of the internationally best-selling Discworld series. Carnegie Medalist and writer extraordinaire.

Introduction

From Fairies and How to Avoid Them by Miss Perspicacia Tick:
The Nac Mac Feegle

(also called Pictsies, The Wee Free Men, The Little Men, and
"Person or Persons Unknown, Believed to be Armed")

The Nac Mac Feegle are the most dangerous of the fairy races, particularly when drunk. They love drinking, fighting, and stealing, and will in fact steal anything that is not nailed down. If it is nailed down, they will steal the nails as well.

Nevertheless, those who have managed to get to know them and survive say that they are also amazingly loyal, strong, dogged, brave, and, in their own way, quite moral. (For example, they won’t steal from people who don’t have anything.)

The average Feegle man (Feegle women are rare—see later) is about six inches high, red haired, his skin turned blue with tattoos and the dye called woad, and, since you’re this close, he’s probably about to hit you.

He’ll wear a kilt made of any old material, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Terry Pratchett is a household name in England where the books in his satirical Discworld series for adults consistently hit the bestseller lists. Although not as well known in the USA, his books are becoming increasingly popular. The reviewers rate this for 12 years or older but our 10 year old son thought it hysterical and fell about laughing over it for a couple of days, even though he admits he didn't understand all of it!..continued

Full Review (151 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
By turns hilarious and achingly beautiful, this be just right. (Fiction. 12+)

Booklist - Sally Estes
Gr. 6-10. The chase is part slapstick, part terror, and in the end, Tiffany herself sets things straight. Pratchett maintains the momentum of the first book, and fans will relish the further adventures of the big wee hag, as Tiffany is known to the Feegles.

Reader Reviews

Anonymous

A Hat Full of Sky is the perfect read-aloud book. The character’s voices are sensational. The pictsies scottish accent is hilarious, Miss Level speaks with two mouths and Death’s monotone is eerie. Just like telling a good joke you want to pass ...   Read More

COLIN

THIS BOOK KEPT YOU WANTING TO KEEP READING. VERRY ADDICTIVE.

COLIN AGE 12

Bindu

Hi I think this book is wonderfull Terry has out done himself this time as usuall he keeps u on edge i could not put this book down. One of the best things about this book its all the old people that u have read about before and u feel like u know ...   Read More

Jen
Hi! I think this book is wonderful. Terry has out-done himself this time, as usual. He keeps you on edge and I could not put this book down. *
One of the best things about this book is coming across all the familiar people whom you have read about ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Terry Pratchett is regarded as one of the most significant contemporary English-language satirists, and has won numerous literary awards. His novels have sold more than 40 million copies worldwide and have been translated into 33 languages.

To date there are about 35 books in the Discworld series, of which three (so far) are written for children. The first of these, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Terry Pratchett

If you liked A Hat Full of Sky, try these:

  • The Twistrose Key jacket

    The Twistrose Key

    by Tone Almhjell

    Published 2014

    About this book

    Exhilarating suspense and unforgettable characters await the readers of this magical adventure, destined to become a classic.

  • The Grim Grotto jacket

    The Grim Grotto

    by Lemony Snicket

    Published 2004

    About this book

    More books by this author

    In their desperate search for something lost, the Baudelaire children encounter new and terrible horrors, including mushrooms, a mechanical monster, a distressing message from a lost friend, and tap dancing. Ages 9+.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...
  • Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    by Dexter Palmer
    The year is 1726 and the sleepy town of Godalming has been rocked by scandal. Called to the bedside ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins
    by Katarina Bivald

    A heartwarming story of love, friendship, and the art of living.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.