We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Terry Pratchett biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett Biography

Sir Terry Pratchett is the acclaimed creator of the global bestselling Discworld series, the first of which, The Colour of Magic, was published in 1983.

In all, he is the author of fifty bestselling books. His novels have been widely adapted for stage and screen, and he is the winner of multiple prizes, including the Carnegie Medal. He was awarded a knighthood for services to literature. Worldwide sales of his books now stand at 70 million, and they have been translated into thirty-seven languages.

Pratchett's latest novel, Dodger is out now. Other new publications include a collection of short fiction works, entitled A Blink of the Screen and The Compleat Ank-Morpork – a guide to Discworld's premier city, which includes a street map, trade directory and gazetteer.

Sir Terry died 12 March, 2015 aged 66.

Terry Pratchett's website

This bio was last updated on 01/14/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Terry Pratchett about his life and writing, and in particular his many Discworld novels.

This is a transcription from TheAuthorHour radio show. For additional questions not asked during the live show, visit TheAuthorHour


Matthew: My guest today is Sir Terry Pratchett, international best selling author of the Disc World Fantasy Series. He's one of the most read authors in the world, with over 65 million books sold. Some of the awards he has received include the Carnegie Medal Locus Award, Mythopoeic Award, ALA notable Books for Children, ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Books Sense Pick Prometheus Award and the British Fantasy Award. It's truly a pleasure to have you on the show today.

Terry: Thank you very much.

Matthew: I have a confession to make. I actually read your first book, The Color of Magic, just last week.

Terry: Well, I knew there must be someone, somewhere in the world, that hadn't read it.

Matthew: [Laughs] Yep! There's a lot of them in the series, over 35?

Terry: Well, it depends, you know, even some of my children's books are set in Discworld. It's a slightly kind of different way of looking at it. And what with the spin off things and the science of Discworld. I myself have actually lost count of the number of books with some kind of Discworld connection.

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Terry Pratchett at BookBrowse
Raising Steam jacket Dodger jacket Snuff jacket I Shall Wear Midnight jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Terry Pratchett but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Tone Almhjell

    Tone Almhjell

    Tone Almhjell grew up, then quickly un-grew up. In a fit of bravery, she quit her job as a journalist to become a fantasy writer. Almhjell has a master's in English Literature from the University of Oslolives in Oslo. She ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Hat Full of Sky

    Try:
    The Twistrose Key
    by Tone Almhjell

  • Philip Ardagh

    Philip Ardagh

    Philip 'Beardy' Ardagh is the award-winning author of the Eddie Dickens adventures, currently available in over 30 languages. He wrote BBC Radio's first truly interactive radio drama, collaborated with Sir Paul... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Hat Full of Sky

    Try:
    A House Called Awful End
    by Philip Ardagh

We recommend 34 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.