Reading guide for Merrow by Ananda Braxton-Smith

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Merrow by Ananda Braxton-Smith X
Merrow by Ananda Braxton-Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Nov 2016, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. Why is it so important to know who you are and where you came from?
  2. Do you think Neen will ever tell Auntie Ushag what she's realized about the bones they found?
  3. Neen comes to the conclusion that her mother was never a merrow, and that merrows might not even exist. What does she think about Ma Slevin's other stories about the kraken or the changeling that took Scully's place?
  4. All kinds of things wash up on the shores of Marrey Cove. If you were Neen, what would you hope to find as you combed the beach?
  5. Why would we sometimes rather believe in otherworldly explanations than the truth?
  6. At the start of the book, Neen is a dreamer and Ushag is very no-nonsense. But by the end, their roles have switched somewhat: Ushag is the one with the fanciful dreams and Neen has come to accept a practical reality. What do you think of this shift? Is it for the better?
  7. When Neen listens to Ma Slevin's stories, she feels like all sorts of magical things are possible. Has there ever been a story that made you feel this way? What was it?
  8. The tales that the villagers whisper about Neen and her parents are sometimes harmless, sometimes hurtful. Why can it be dangerous to assume you know someone's story and decide for yourself what's true?
  9. Ushag is a complex character. Were you as surprised as Neen was when you learned about her childhood and watched her change?
  10. How do you think Ulf's arrival effected the changes that occurred over the summer? What do you think might have happened if he had never appeared?
  11. Do you think Neen's acceptance of what happened to her mother is a sign that she is growing up?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Candlewick Press. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Vikings on the Isle of Man

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Orchard
    The Orchard
    by David Hopen
    The protagonist of David Hopen's first novel, The Orchard, is 17-year-old Aryeh Eden, a Brooklyn boy...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.