Reading guide for The American Lover by Rose Tremain

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The American Lover

by Rose Tremain

The American Lover by Rose Tremain X
The American Lover by Rose Tremain
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2015, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2016, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. In the title story, Beth, a once-famous author, disabled in a car accident and long abandoned by her lover, says, "I did have a beautiful life. It ended early, that's all." Do you agree with this statement? Do you think it's good that Beth sees her life that way? Does the theme of the briefness of life's beauty echo through other stories in the collection? How so?
  2. What is the effect of the framing device in the title story? How would the story of "The American Lover" be different if it wasn't framed by Beth and Rosalita's dialogue?
  3. Who is the true captive of the story "Captive," Owen or the dogs? What keeps Owen in his family's old house? What forces, besides the cold, bring about his and the dogs' disaster in the end?
  4. Compare and contrast the relationship between authors and their material—real life—as depicted in "The American Lover" and "Housekeeper." Do we empathize with Beth and with Daphne du Maurier for how they used Thaddeus and Mrs. Danowski, respectively?
  5. Ivan in "The Jester of Astapovo" and Mrs. Danowski in "Housekeeper" both share important moments in their lives with famed literary figures. What is the effect of our hearing about these figures from another perspective? What do you make of the servants depicted throughout the collection? What do we learn when we see the world through their eyes?
  6. The protagonists' relationship to time and memory play a large role in "Man in the Water" and "Smithy." How are they similar or different?
  7. In "Smithy," why does Smithy find the appearance of the mattress so disturbing? What does it have to do with aging and memory, life and death? How do you explain the moment of peace that Smithy finds with the mattress at the end?
  8. How would you characterize Fran's relationship with her mother in "BlackBerry Winter"? Does it subtly evolve from the beginning to the end the story? How and why?
  9. "Lucy and Gaston" is a story of grief and healing. How do the two title characters parallel one another? How do they help one another towards resolution?
  10. At the end of "The Closing Door," Marjorie wants to say to her daughter, Patience, "I don't know where I am. I'm miles from anywhere familiar to me. I don't know what I'm meant to do now." This line could just as easily be spoken by Patience herself. What parallels do you see between mother and daughter in this story? How do both characters develop over the course of the day depicted in the story?
  11. What is the effect of the use of the diary in "Twenty-First Century Juliet"? How might the story have been different if it had been written in the first person but without the structure of the diary?
  12. How would you characterize the voice of the narrator in "Twenty-First Century Juliet"? How do the humor and irony of the story serve to comment on the original Romeo and Juliet and on the mores of the twenty-first century?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of W.W. Norton & Company. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Tolstoy's Death

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.