Reading guide for The White Mary by Kira Salak

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The White Mary

A Novel

by Kira Salak

The White Mary by Kira Salak X
The White Mary by Kira Salak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. What is at the heart of Marika’s quest to find Robert Lewis? What does he represent to her? How does her image of him change throughout the novel?

  2. How did your impressions of Seb shift throughout the novel? What sustains his relationship with Marika? What are its greatest challenges?

  3. How does the spiritual world of the Papua New Guineans reflect their view of themselves and their place in the world? What universal fears and rites are captured in their beliefs? Do they reflect or refute the book’s epigraph from the Gnostic gospels? Do Marika’s spiritual beliefs change as a result of her journey?

  4. During her travels, Marika is often asked if she is an anthropologist or a missionary. What do those two vocations have in common with her work as a journalist? What motivates all three groups to immerse themselves in worlds far removed from their comfort zones?

  5. Kira Salak and her family experienced profound grief when her brother, to whom the book is dedicated, died in Africa in 2005. She has said that she wanted to explore themes of similar traumatic loss in The White Mary. How do the characters respond to tragedy? Does Lewis prove to be someone “who wouldn’t let the darkness win,” as Marika describes him at the end of chapter two?

  6. What is Tobo’s role in Marika’s life? Does he give her guidance beyond geography?

  7. How did you react to the villagers’ belief that menstruating women are poisonous to men? Was Marika right to reject their ritual or, as Lewis insisted, should she have respected it? What is the appropriate way to respond to another culture’s traditions?

  8. How is Marika affected by her family’s past? How does she reconcile her own life to the legacy of her mother’s mental illness and her father’s tragic death?

  9. Marika endures sexual exploitation many times, even at the hands of Newlove when she is dangerously ill. What is different about the way Seb treats her in bed? What does sex mean to her throughout the novel? What did impotency mean to Lewis?

  10. Discuss the unique structural aspects of the novel, including the use of present tense incorporated with flashbacks. How does Salak evoke the way memory often works?

  11. What do you predict for Marika’s future? How will she be changed by her encounter with Lewis?

    Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Picador. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.