MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The White Mary

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The White Mary

A Novel

by Kira Salak

The White Mary by Kira Salak X
The White Mary by Kira Salak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The White Mary

Print Review

A Short History of Papua New Guinea

Geography
New Guinea, the second largest island in the world*, is situated approximately 150 miles (240 kilometers) north of Australia. The Independent State of Papua New Guinea (aka Papua New Guinea or PNG) comprises the eastern half of the island. (The western half is the Indonesian state of Irian Jaya.) PNG has an area of 178,703 square miles (462,860 square kilometers) – about the size of California – with a population of 6.3 million people (2007).

Early Exploration
Archeological evidence suggests the island was inhabited approximately 50,000 years ago by Asian settlers. The first recorded contact with Europeans didn't come until Portuguese explorer Jorge de Meneses "discovered" it in 1527. De Meneses dubbed the island Ilhas do Papuas – "The Island of the Fuzzy Hairs." Later, Spanish explorer Inigo Ortiz de Retes named it New Guinea, because he thought the people similar to those of Guinea in Africa.

New Guinea was visited by Europeans only sporadically until 1824, when the Dutch claimed the western half of the island, seeking to expand its Dutch East India Company. Germany took possession of its northeast quarter in 1884, with the British laying claim to the southeast quadrant that same year.

In 1906, British New Guinea became Papua, and its administration was taken over by newly-independent Australia. When World War I broke out, Australian troops invaded the German territory to the north, expelling the Germans from the island. The League of Nations officially ceded Papua to Australia in 1920. The Japanese occupied the north coast of New Guinea during World War II, but it reverted to Australian control at the end of the war. Australia allowed the territory self-government in 1973, with full independence following on 16 September, 1975.

Culture
PNG is one of the most culturally diverse countries on Earth. Although English is its official language, it is the primary language of only about 1-2% of the population. The area has more than 850 indigenous languages (12% of the world's total). There are thousands of small tribal groups throughout the country, most comprised of only a few hundred individuals in isolated villages. 85% of the inhabitants live in traditional subsistence agricultural societies. 96% of the population identify themselves as Christian (representing a wide range of denominations), but religious practice is often mixed with traditional tribal rituals.

Resources
Although PNG is rich in natural resources, it's been unable to capitalize on them. A rugged mountain range bisects the country, running west to east across its entire length. Most of the territory is covered with tropical rainforest, with very large, swampy wetlands interspersed as well. These features have made transportation and infrastructure development difficult. Port Moresby, its capital and largest city, isn't linked by road to any other major town. Many remote villages can only be reached by foot or light aircraft. These factors have also led to its being one of the world's least explored areas.

Tourism
Tourist visits to PNG are currently discouraged by most agencies. Low-scale tribal warfare has been ongoing for thousands of years. The advent of modern weaponry has increased local violence dramatically. As more people have migrated to the urban areas, lawlessness has followed. The Lonely Planet website warns, "Papua New Guinea is troubled by a high level of serious crime, particularly in the urban centres of Port Moresby, Lae and Mt Hagen. Travelers should use common sense to avoid any trouble - don't travel at night and respect any local advice regarding safety. All travel to the Highlands region, except on essential business, should be reconsidered because of high levels of crime and inter-tribal violence."

Interesting links:

PNG Pictures:

Article by Kim Kovacs

This "beyond the book article" relates to The White Mary. It originally ran in August 2008 and has been updated for the September 2009 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.