Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The White Mary

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The White Mary

A Novel

by Kira Salak

The White Mary by Kira Salak X
The White Mary by Kira Salak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

A Short History of Papua New Guinea

Geography
New Guinea, the second largest island in the world*, is situated approximately 150 miles (240 kilometers) north of Australia. The Independent State of Papua New Guinea (aka Papua New Guinea or PNG) comprises the eastern half of the island. (The western half is the Indonesian state of Irian Jaya.) PNG has an area of 178,703 square miles (462,860 square kilometers) – about the size of California – with a population of 6.3 million people (2007).

Early Exploration
Archeological evidence suggests the island was inhabited approximately 50,000 years ago by Asian settlers. The first recorded contact with Europeans didn't come until Portuguese explorer Jorge de Meneses "discovered" it in 1527. De Meneses dubbed the island Ilhas do Papuas – "The Island of the Fuzzy Hairs." Later, Spanish explorer Inigo Ortiz de Retes named it New Guinea, because he thought the people similar to those of Guinea in Africa.

New Guinea was visited by Europeans only sporadically until 1824, when the Dutch claimed the western half of the island, seeking to expand its Dutch East India Company. Germany took possession of its northeast quarter in 1884, with the British laying claim to the southeast quadrant that same year.

In 1906, British New Guinea became Papua, and its administration was taken over by newly-independent Australia. When World War I broke out, Australian troops invaded the German territory to the north, expelling the Germans from the island. The League of Nations officially ceded Papua to Australia in 1920. The Japanese occupied the north coast of New Guinea during World War II, but it reverted to Australian control at the end of the war. Australia allowed the territory self-government in 1973, with full independence following on 16 September, 1975.

Culture
PNG is one of the most culturally diverse countries on Earth. Although English is its official language, it is the primary language of only about 1-2% of the population. The area has more than 850 indigenous languages (12% of the world's total). There are thousands of small tribal groups throughout the country, most comprised of only a few hundred individuals in isolated villages. 85% of the inhabitants live in traditional subsistence agricultural societies. 96% of the population identify themselves as Christian (representing a wide range of denominations), but religious practice is often mixed with traditional tribal rituals.

Resources
Although PNG is rich in natural resources, it's been unable to capitalize on them. A rugged mountain range bisects the country, running west to east across its entire length. Most of the territory is covered with tropical rainforest, with very large, swampy wetlands interspersed as well. These features have made transportation and infrastructure development difficult. Port Moresby, its capital and largest city, isn't linked by road to any other major town. Many remote villages can only be reached by foot or light aircraft. These factors have also led to its being one of the world's least explored areas.

Tourism
Tourist visits to PNG are currently discouraged by most agencies. Low-scale tribal warfare has been ongoing for thousands of years. The advent of modern weaponry has increased local violence dramatically. As more people have migrated to the urban areas, lawlessness has followed. The Lonely Planet website warns, "Papua New Guinea is troubled by a high level of serious crime, particularly in the urban centres of Port Moresby, Lae and Mt Hagen. Travelers should use common sense to avoid any trouble - don't travel at night and respect any local advice regarding safety. All travel to the Highlands region, except on essential business, should be reconsidered because of high levels of crime and inter-tribal violence."

Interesting links:

PNG Pictures:

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in August 2008, and has been updated for the September 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.