Read what people think about Doing Harm by Kelly Parsons, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Doing Harm

by Kelly Parsons

Doing Harm
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2014
    368 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 5 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for Doing Harm
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Eileen F. (Ridgefield, WA) (10/29/13)

Page Turner
A page turning read. The author is good about explaining medical jargon and computer applications. It makes one wonder if parts of this story haven't been reality, somewhere. His evaluation of doctor's personality traits are very accurate. Hope there is another book in the planning.
Ilene R. (Northfield, IL) (10/28/13)

A roller coaster ride...
I really liked Doing Harm. It's a story about a surgeon, Steve Mitchell. He is known around the hospital as one of the "best"! Then- a patient dies. Steve gets caught up in a series of events that toss his whole life into turmoil! I liked that Steve is flawed. He isn't always likeable but I still rooted for him to get out of the mess someone is causing for him. I don't want to give the plot away but please know the book is exciting from start to finish.
Power Reviewer Portia A. (Mount Laurel, NJ) (10/26/13)

Wow!
"Doing Harm" was one of the best of its kind that I've read for a long while..and kept my interest from the beginning. The fact that the protagonist is a surgeon and much of the plot takes place in a hospital made the story even more exciting.
If you enjoyed "Gone Girl" or "Close My Eyes" or other such books this book is most certainly for you.
DJ (10/25/13)

Do not read before surgery!
This is an excellent medical thriller. It is a "stay with it until you finish it" kind of book. Many twists and turns. Someone is murdering patients using methods or situations that can happen in a hospital setting and not be discovered. The author is a doctor which brings medical credibility to the story. Well done by a first novel author. Would recommend it to anyone who likes a gripping story.
Rebecca J. (Knoxville, TN) (10/24/13)

Doing Harm
Doing Harm is a very suspenseful medical mystery which I read in a couple of days. I probably would have given it 5 stars except for the unlikeable protagonist and the fact that the author seemed to want to constantly impress the reader with his medical knowledge. He, in fact, is a doctor but some of the descriptions were pretty nauseating to me and not necessary. This would make a great beach read or a book for someone who doesn't read much. I had to find out the ending!
Jeff S. (Nashville, TN) (10/23/13)

Excellent Thriller
Doing Harm is a medical thriller. It is gripping from the start and never lets the reader rest. It's definitely one of the best thrillers that I have read in years. It is the story of Steve MItchell, a doctor at University Hospital, who meets and gets involved with a killer. The writer lets you see Steve making lapses in judgement and you know that he is all too human. He is not prepared for what is about to happen to him and that for him to get out the mess that he is entering will take a great deal of effort and some help. I would and will highly recommend this book.

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.