Read what people think about A Thread of Sky by Deanna Fei, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

A Thread of Sky

A Novel

by Deanna Fei

A Thread of Sky
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2010
    368 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for A Thread of Sky
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Susan F. (Rabun Gap, GA) (04/12/10)

Good, Light Read
This is a good, light read as it fails to develop its characters enough to be a really great book. The family of traveling women just did not connect and I was unable to identify with any of them. Sadly, even the travel log portion failed to make me enthusiastic for any travel to modern day China.
Jean N. (New Richmond, OH) (04/08/10)

A Thread of Sky
Three generations of women, reuniting to embark on a family tour of China, each bringing their own baggage containing individual secrets, hopes and dreams. Traveling together, yet apart, each women looking for something different. The story unfolds slowly, as secrets come to the surface, and the women discover their true selves and each other.
Power Reviewer Dorothy T. (Victorville, CA) (04/05/10)

This one's just OK
I had a difficult time connecting with the characters in this book. The poor choices these women make did nothing to invoke my sympathies, especially in view of the fact that they are supposed to be liberated and educated. Maybe that is the author's point. Her treatment of the themes of forgiveness and the complicated tangle of mothers, daughters and sisters might make this worthy of a reading.
Jill S. (Eagle, ID) (04/05/10)

A Thread of Sky
I was looking forward to this debut novel, but I must admit I struggled with it from the beginning. Although the characters are strong, believable women, their emotional problems and unhappiness over shadowed this book, and I could not identify with any of them. The ending left me empty as well. There are a number of unanswered questions, and perhaps Ms. Fei intends to write a sequel. Overall, this wasn’t a great read, but it wasn’t a ‘poor read’ either. It was just ‘okay’.
Power Reviewer Jane N. (Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey) (04/02/10)

A Thread of Sky
Wow, what a great start for this author. There is so much to like about this book on many levels. The themes are universal, growing up, growing old and learning how to deal with all of life's seasons. I identified with the mother and the grandmother the most and I'm sure that anyone who reads this book will also have their favorite characters. The trip through modern China is fascinating ! A good read and a great choice for a book club !
Jane H. (Indianola, Iowa) (03/31/10)

A Thread of Sky
I found it very hard to get interested in A Thread of the Sky. The characters all had emotional problems,carried secrets and could not seem to identify with each other. The one character I felt lived up to my expectations was the grandmother. This is not the China she left. Mao's time has passed, and China was becoming more western- copying the West. She had been a woman who left a legacy behind her. She wished her granddaughters to find legacies for themselves.
I enjoyed the families tour through modern China.
Patricia W. (Richmond, VA) (03/31/10)

A Thread of Sky
This is a sweeping story of a complicated family on two simultaneous journeys. One journey is back to their roots in China and the other an emotional journey that has each woman in the novel looking at her life. It is a compelling book with universal themes--growing up and coming of age, aging and coming to grips with the past. While enjoying the book, some details were at times overwhelming and superfluous to the story. Tighter editing might have served the book well but all in all it is an enjoyable, multi-generational, multi-cultural read.
Sylvia G. (Scottsdale, AZ) (03/30/10)

threads not cloth
This story of 3 generations of American-Chinese women taking a trip to China had great possibilities, but ultimately fell short. Every character is unhappy but I couldn't empathize with any of them, in fact finding some of it rather whiny. We have threads of each story but never a whole cloth and that makes it hard to care too much. It was like a depressing and boring literary version of " Joy Luck Club".
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.