Reader reviews and comments on Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress

by Dai Sijie

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2001, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2002, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michelle (01/14/05)

it's really a boring book with no real plot, no real feeling behind the story. i cant really consider it a novel, its more of a lame excuse of a historical book
NIna (01/09/05)

THIS IS THE THE BEST BOOK EVER! I SUGGEST IT TO EVERYONE TO READ!
BB (01/06/05)

I really enjoyed this book out of all the books I have read but I don't like the way how it ended.
TakeMeOrLeaveMe (12/11/04)

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress

I am currently in the middle of reading this book and I fell in love with from the very first page. There is something in the way that Dai Seiji writes that trapped me. His words are beautiful and expressive, to me, in way that they convey exactly what he wanted. I also love the way that he describes everything with such deatial and care. I can picture it excatly in my mind.

This book tells the story of the Chinese cultural revoloution of the 1960's. There is so much historaly fascinating information in this book your head almosrt get overwhelmed, but them Dai brings you back to the wonderful plot of two young boys struggling with, love, jealousy, repression, and their current ploy, re-education.

It is hard for me to put the book down and i suggest this magnificent piece of work to anyone interested in a thrilling tale of history at it's finest.
Devin (12/09/04)

Save yourself the time, don't pick up this book. It is a ridiculous tale of two uninteresting young mens' lives and a superficial reflection of the harsh Cultural Revolution.
amy (12/04/04)

Hi, I'm 15, and I love this book! I agree with the other reviews that this story stunningly brings light and life to the dark harsh times of China. There's just one thing that upset me about this novel, and it was that i didnt understand the last passage, what did that mean??? I kind of have the main idea, but I am not quite sure. All and all, can't wait till the movie comes out. =)
Audrius Siupienius (11/08/04)

This book is really good because it reveals one of the darkest Chinese history page in true feelings which were experienced by the author of this book.
Rooti Lewis (09/29/04)

I thought the story was really interesting and entertaining. I wish the story would have concentrated more on the Cultural atmosphere at the time than on the sexual relationship between Luo and the Seamstress. Maybe the book could have been expanded to add more of the Cultural aspects of China during the Cultural Revolution.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.