Reader reviews and comments on Ghost Soldiers, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ghost Soldiers

The Forgotten Epic Story of World War II's Most Dramatic Mission

by Hampton Sides

Ghost Soldiers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for Ghost Soldiers
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michael Koptke (12/11/02)

The book was a gift from my grandmother, a survivor of Pearl Harbor. I gave the book a good look over and was pulled in to its magnificent content. Sides has yeilded a sword of understanding. He grasped the trauma and horrific conditions of Cabanatuan Camp. The book itself is the product of pure genius. Never have I read a book that gives such vivid detail and is well researched amongst all things. This book is a "must read" to anyone who wishes to understand all sides of the story. Form the Death March to the raid the book holds the reader in a colosal pull of history.
Zachary Sweet (10/02/02)

This book is a breath of fresh air, in a time when heroic unsubstantiated war novels fill the shelfs. Hampton Sides not only gives you minute by minute action, but also explores the cultural differences that tore each side apart. Ghost Soldiers is a brilliant collection of real life stories of horror that touches the heart.
Vicky Pinpin-Feinstein (08/27/02)

It was coincidental that I started reading Ghost Soldiers while visiting Normandy where we were reminded what WWII meant to the people of Normandy, the sacrifices made by its people, and the heroism of each and every Allied soldier. Visiting war memorials and museums there juxtaposed quite poignantly with the powerful and stirring narrative provided by Sides in the book. Interestingly enough, I am a native of San Fernando, Pampanga, a town mentioned in the book where the ghost soldiers were stuffed on trains by their violent Japanese captors. I remember too well the stories told to me as a young girl by my parents and grandmother of the atrocities commmitted by the Japanese in the Philippines. I am glad that such an account of their atrocities and cruelty is faithfully preserved by those who suffered from it and by the intense writing style of Sides. This is a must-read book for those who want to be reminded that violence, whatever its face, will always be a fact of war.
joe Mcc (06/13/02)

Excellent, the rangers and POW'S are real hero's. Well written, good for history buffs, exciting.
Betty Dunn (06/07/02)

The book seemed like it's good but I like to see and feel what I'm reading
thats why I give you a four!!
AeroAngel (06/03/02)

I am a Wolrd War II and Vietnam fanatic (not that it's a good thing, liking war) but I've read my share of war books. Even if you're not like me, you'll love this book. There's never a dull moment!
Sudsy (05/21/02)

If you are a history buff and enjoy a well told war story this book is for you!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.