Reader reviews and comments on Ghost Soldiers, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ghost Soldiers

The Forgotten Epic Story of World War II's Most Dramatic Mission

by Hampton Sides

Ghost Soldiers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for Ghost Soldiers
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michael Koptke (12/11/02)

The book was a gift from my grandmother, a survivor of Pearl Harbor. I gave the book a good look over and was pulled in to its magnificent content. Sides has yeilded a sword of understanding. He grasped the trauma and horrific conditions of Cabanatuan Camp. The book itself is the product of pure genius. Never have I read a book that gives such vivid detail and is well researched amongst all things. This book is a "must read" to anyone who wishes to understand all sides of the story. Form the Death March to the raid the book holds the reader in a colosal pull of history.
Zachary Sweet (10/02/02)

This book is a breath of fresh air, in a time when heroic unsubstantiated war novels fill the shelfs. Hampton Sides not only gives you minute by minute action, but also explores the cultural differences that tore each side apart. Ghost Soldiers is a brilliant collection of real life stories of horror that touches the heart.
Vicky Pinpin-Feinstein (08/27/02)

It was coincidental that I started reading Ghost Soldiers while visiting Normandy where we were reminded what WWII meant to the people of Normandy, the sacrifices made by its people, and the heroism of each and every Allied soldier. Visiting war memorials and museums there juxtaposed quite poignantly with the powerful and stirring narrative provided by Sides in the book. Interestingly enough, I am a native of San Fernando, Pampanga, a town mentioned in the book where the ghost soldiers were stuffed on trains by their violent Japanese captors. I remember too well the stories told to me as a young girl by my parents and grandmother of the atrocities commmitted by the Japanese in the Philippines. I am glad that such an account of their atrocities and cruelty is faithfully preserved by those who suffered from it and by the intense writing style of Sides. This is a must-read book for those who want to be reminded that violence, whatever its face, will always be a fact of war.
joe Mcc (06/13/02)

Excellent, the rangers and POW'S are real hero's. Well written, good for history buffs, exciting.
Betty Dunn (06/07/02)

The book seemed like it's good but I like to see and feel what I'm reading
thats why I give you a four!!
AeroAngel (06/03/02)

I am a Wolrd War II and Vietnam fanatic (not that it's a good thing, liking war) but I've read my share of war books. Even if you're not like me, you'll love this book. There's never a dull moment!
Sudsy (05/21/02)

If you are a history buff and enjoy a well told war story this book is for you!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.