Reader reviews and comments on Ghost Soldiers, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ghost Soldiers

The Forgotten Epic Story of World War II's Most Dramatic Mission

by Hampton Sides

Ghost Soldiers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for Ghost Soldiers
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Joseph Go (07/25/03)

Bravo !
Greg C (07/21/03)

Excellent book and story. I would love to see the movie.
Andrew Wood (06/05/03)

Since the beginning of the Revolutionary War, countless American soldiers have given up their lives to keep our country free. Sadly, not many American citizens realize the difficult trials that our soldiers endure to ensure our tranquil freedom. Or, some citizens prefer to ignore or even overlook the gruesome details that bought our freedom. However, Hampton Sides, through his book Ghost Fleet, describes the gruesome experiences that our soldiers went through during the Bataan Death March and at Camp O’Donnell. The Treatment of the Prisoners Of War and how they were transported from place to place made them the worst experiences of World War II.
ranger boy (05/11/03)

if you like rangers..if you like world war 2... maybe you even want to be a ranger like me, this is the book for you. ever dream of being a hero? ever wish you were a ranger? ever read this book? you should.
Warren S. (03/14/03)

The book starts with a gripping account of the treatment of prisoners in a japanese POW camp. You seem to be on the same emotional roller coaster ride with the prisoners. A great read you don't want to put the book down.
Daphne (03/05/03)

I read this book for a history class, and was immediately drawn into it. It is quite possibly one of the best books I have ever read. I felt as though I was there alongside the prisoners as well as the Rangers. A must-read for anyone interested in World War Two.
Thushara Gunda (01/04/03)

Hampton Sides did a wonderful job of capturing the reader's attention, me. His tyle of writing, made me feel as if I was actually there in the battlefield, witnessing first-hand all the acts of courage and desparity that occurred.
Chris Saulsbury (12/28/02)

It is and excellent book that will warm your heart when you finish reading it.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.