Reader reviews and comments on Empire Falls, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Empire Falls

by Richard Russo

Empire Falls by Richard Russo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Empire Falls
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (10/10/01)

Full of characters you come to love, Empire Falls remains with me many weeks after having read it. Our hero, a flawed, though decent man, tries to get through life in a town that is fading fast. He deals with a quirky father patiently, a troubled daughter, an ex-wife who seems to regret her decision to divorce, the memory of a mother with a deep secret. The surprise ending seems cut out of current headlines, and detracts from the payoff at the end. Despite this, I recommend it highly.
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Poney
Russo continues to write well, but reading endlessly about rather dull
characters is not too rewarding. Small, failing towns tend to seem even
more depressing under his pen.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.