Reader reviews and comments on Empire Falls, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Empire Falls

by Richard Russo

Empire Falls by Richard Russo X
Empire Falls by Richard Russo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Empire Falls
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kevin Kolbe (01/02/03)

Richard Russo not only has the genius to understand the scope of human emotion, but the courage to be truthful about it. Russo understands, perhaps better than any other author, how much a character's faults endear us to them.
Sara Strawhun (12/11/02)

I thought this book was amazing. It was just real life, it didn't try too make any real life situation easier than it really is, it told the truth. I just couldn't put it down.
William Thomas (11/20/02)

This was one of the best books I've ever read. The characters are realistic and compelling. Russo evokes in us a barage of emotions from elation to sadness. This book reminds me of another book I read "Descent into Illusions"
Ali Lalegini (11/13/02)


Just amazing! Well structured and stunning style!
C. Green (08/15/02)

Reminded me of one of my favorites, "Shipping News". Miles is a decent man but something of a loser and you can't help but be in his corner. The book was engrossing with wonderful minor characters - sad and funny, depressing and hopeful.
Judith Cohen (07/22/02)

Loved it, gut level and that's the key. All the characters seemed real, particularly Janine, poor darling. I agree with Russo, that the father-daughter which is tender and touching is the heart of the book.
Douglas Lukaszewski (06/23/02)

The character of Max Roby is one of the funniest to read in a long while.
Lars Joe Morgan (03/05/02)

Interminably prolix, profoundly depressing, and a criminal waste of paper.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.