Reader reviews and comments on Empire Falls, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Empire Falls

by Richard Russo

Empire Falls
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Empire Falls
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

C.A.A. (08/24/03)

I absolutely loved this book. I'm 16 and I think that I can relate to almost every aspect that this book describes. This was quite a page turner- I couldn't put it down! This was assigned as a summer reading book, but I have no idea how a book this good ended up on the list. Usually the books I have to read for school are a chore; this was a pleasure.
brittany (08/19/03)

I'm 14 and my high school assigned this book to me. I'm not a jamielyn but even in my opinon this book is not suitible or entertaining to my age group. there is major cussing and talk of erect_ _ _ _ and orgas_ _. it is also horribly slow and boring. most books are slow in the beginning because the author must explain the charachters and the settings then the plot starts to unravel, but in empire falls there is no plot its just keeps on explaining the stupid charachters and there miserable life. here is my favorite stupid quote from Empire Falls:

"there are three human primal urges: to eat, to f_ _ _, and to kill your pain in the a _ _ mother."
Shannon (08/08/03)

There was no substantial material in this book. I do not feel that it altered or questioned any of my perceptions nor did I feel sympathetic the the blue collar anti hero of this book. It makes for ok reading if you are reading simply for the purpose of having something to do. However if you are looking for the deep, meaningful, sweeping book promised in the reviews... you will be sadly dissappointed by Empire Falls.
CD (07/08/03)

A real disappointment. The dialogue falls flat, the characters are simply stereotypes, the plot is plodding and predictable. I suppose many people will enjoy the "storytelling" here, but no one will remember this book in thirty years. Where are all the great editors in the publishing world hiding? Or is this just the type of writing Americans now crave?
Megan (06/26/03)

Poorly developed characters, Russo condescends to the people in this small town. Real people are not as simple as Russo portrays them. The foreshadowing is obvious, I guessed the plot "twists" from the beginning. People had too many superficial realizations that they never acted on and the book felt like it is set in the 1950's. A boring "This is Your Life" kind of world with hokey dialogue. Larry McMurtry lite.
M. Milligan (05/30/03)

One of the best books I've read this year. As soon as I finished I read it again just to gain a deeper perspective.
Debralyn (03/19/03)

Easy and quick reading. I enjoy Richard Russos style of writing. I think some of the characters needed to be more developed.
J.Moore (01/13/03)

This is a wonderful book that I just hated to see end. I love to find a book that is so good that I look forward to going to bed early at night just to get back to it and this is that book for me.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.