Reader reviews and comments on Lucky Boy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lucky Boy

by Shanthi Sekaran

Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran X
Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2017, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Lucky Boy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda Zagon

"Two Hearts and Heartbreak"
Especially with the recent news of immigration, this is a timely read. The genre of this book is fiction. The author writes of Solimar, an undocumented Mexican, who has a treacherous journey to America and gives birth to a baby boy. Kavya an America Indian woman, has faced fertility issues and wants a baby more than anything. When Solimar is in an accident in America, her baby boy is placed in a foster situation with Kavya and her husband. Solimar finds herself in a detention center ,not certain of her future. Solimar only wants her baby. At the same time Kavya and her husband have fallen in love with their foster child. As the description of the book describes:There are no bad guys in this story,no single obvious hero." I find that the author describes issues of heartbreak and frustration of infertility. as well as immigration, and non documented people.The detention centers are described as almost lawless, providing no legal rights , as well issues of deportation. What rights does a foster or natural mother have? Shanthi Sekaran has written a very emotional novel that gives me much to think about.
  • Page
  • 1

Beyond the Book:
  Grupos Beta

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.