Grupos Beta: Background information when reading Lucky Boy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lucky Boy

by Shanthi Sekaran

Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran X
Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2017, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright
Buy This Book

About this Book

Grupos Beta

This article relates to Lucky Boy

Print Review

In the beginning of Lucky Boy, as Soli makes her way from Mexico to the United States, she spends several nights in a relief camp set up by Grupos Beta, a service agency operated by Mexico's National Institute of Migration (INM), that offers water, shelter, medical aid, and information to migrants at risk.

There are currently 22 Grupos Beta operations in nine Mexican states: Baja California, Sonora, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Tamaulipas, Veracruz, Tabasco, Chiapas and Oaxaca. Started in 1990 as a kind of border patrol that protects rather than detains migrants, the basic role of the federal entity is to safeguard the human rights of migrants who might face serious dangers and health risks such as heat stroke, dehydration, and hyperthermia while traveling in Mexico.

Grupos Beta provides medical aid for migrants in need Among the many essential services provided are water and air rescue for people navigating the harsh environments of canyons, mountains, and arroyos. The organization also places blue flags to mark the path that will direct travelers to water stations, and to let them know that they are patrolling the area. Once migrants find their way to a camp, Grupos Beta delivers medical aid, food, showers, and shelter for up to three days as well as assisting those who need longer term facilities because they are sick or too feeble to travel further. Recruits are encouraged to undergo paramedical training. With a motto of "vocation, humanitarianism, and loyalty," Grupos Beta also provides information and orientation, letting migrants know the kinds of issues to anticipate.

The organization works with other entities such as Humane Borders, a faith-based initiative out of Tucson, Arizona, that sets up water stations; and Kino Border Initiative, a Jesuit organization dedicated to helping migrants and deportees. Amnesty International and other human rights groups have expressed concerns that Grupos Beta is not sufficiently funded to meet the needs of the hundreds of thousands of migrants in transit each year who are vulnerable to abuse by gangs, kidnappers, robbers and sexual predators. In the past eight years, there has been a tremendous increase in unaccompanied children and youth traveling from Central America who are at great risk for becoming lost, injured or falling victim to traffickers.

The Mexican government provides a list of the various Grupos Beta organizations that can be contacted so missing children can be reported, in the hopes of reuniting them with their families, placing them in shelter care or in the worst case, having their remains sent to next of kin for burial.

Picture of Grupos Beta in action from PHP Mexico

Filed under Places, Cultures & Identities

Article by Sharry Wright

This "beyond the book article" relates to Lucky Boy. It originally ran in February 2017 and has been updated for the September 2017 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.