Reader reviews and comments on The Incarnations, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Incarnations

A Novel

by Susan Barker

The Incarnations by Susan Barker X
The Incarnations by Susan Barker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2015, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2016, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Incarnations
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Rebecca

Wonderful concept
I was very excited to read this book. I was fascinated by the idea of reincarnation and being unaware of former lives until someone brings awareness of those lives through disturbing means. The book is beautifully written the author adds so much color to her writing through her descriptions of different periods in Chinese history. There were two things about this book that were disturbing. I believe that this same story could have been told without all of the homosexuality. It didn't offend me; it just seemed so unnecessary especially since most of it was violent and loveless. The other disturbing thing was the ugly picture of China told through the different stories. It left me feeling like the author has very little love for China especially Bejing. There is a great twist at the end of the book, though, and I am glad I read it through until the end.
Penny

The Incarnations
I really tried to like this book, but I could not even finish it. I believe there is much more to the history of China than sexual abuse and torture which was described very graphically. The premise of two "soul-mates" being reincarnated throughout critical times in Chinese history was enticing. I am a reader who does not mind necessary violence in a book, but this one dealt more with that than the story of China itself. To me, it was sadistic and the most unpleasant read of my life. I would like to say that I am a former literature teacher, and a retired librarian, so I am very liberal and eclectic about books. But, this, to me, was the worst book I have ever read.
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.