Reincarnation and the Dalai Lamas: Background information when reading The Incarnations

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Incarnations

A Novel

by Susan Barker

The Incarnations by Susan Barker X
The Incarnations by Susan Barker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2015, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2016, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reincarnation and the Dalai Lamas

This article relates to The Incarnations

Print Review

Susan Barker's The Incarnations explores the five lives of one man who, in his present life, is a taxi driver in Beijing. The highest-profile example of reincarnation is that of the Dalai Lamas in Tibet – 14 in all, so far. The Dalai Lamas come from the Yellow Hat Sect of Tibetan Buddhists, which was founded in the late 14th century, devoting itself to restoring discipline in a monastic life. They believe that each Dalai Lama is the reincarnation of the original.

Gedun DrupaGedun Drupa was the first Dalai Lama, born in 1391. However, the title of Dalai Lama was not adopted until the 1570s, so Drupa and his successor, Gedun Gyatso, were considered abbots in their lifetimes. Sonam Gyatso, the third Dalai Lama, was the first to hold the title, bestowed upon him by Altan Khan, the Mongolian king. The title means "Ocean of Wisdom," although Tibetans also use Gyalwa Rinpoche, which means "Precious Conqueror."

Finding the next Dalai Lama after the previous one has died is not like choosing the next Pope, with Cardinals gathering to vote among themselves. Instead, the death of the Dalai Lama marks the start of a long and rigorous search to find his reincarnation. The process, which takes years, is entrusted to the Tibetan government and the Yellow Hat Sect of Tibetan Buddhists.

Lhamo LhatsoA great example of this search process was for the 14th - and current - Dalai Lama. After Thupten Gyatso, the 13th Dalai Lama, died in 1933, the Tibetan government followed mystical clues. While Gyatso's body had lain in state, his head turned to the northeast from the south, so the government believed that the future Dalai Lama would be found in that Tibetan region. Then the abbot of Reting Monastery (who has had an historical role in selecting the new Dalai Lama) had a vision of Lhamo Lhatso, the sacred lake, which reflected the letters Ah, Ka, and Ma. He interpreted this as a sign for Amdo, a northeastern province. Later he had a vision of a three-story monastery, with a tiny house in its shadow. It wasn't until 1937, that a search party was dispatched to Amdo, and they found the house.

The party disguised themselves as travelers and stayed the night with the family of Lhamo Thondup, who was two years old. There were signs that Lhamo Thondup might be the future Dalai Lama, one of them being that he was dead set on going to Lhasa, Tibet's traditional and spiritual capital, packing and pretending to mount a horse, exclaiming, "I'm going to Lhasa!"

Kewtsang Rinpoche, the leader of the search party, was certain that this child was the reincarnation of the 13th Dalai Lama. Lhamo immediately recognized Kewtsang as a monk and knew which monastery he belonged to. A formal visit to the family's home a few days later confirmed it when several items belonging to the 13th Dalai Lama were brought out along with decoy items. Right away, Lhamo identified every item that belonged to the 13th Dalai Lama with the declaration, "It's mine." Soon after, Lhamo was sent to Kumbum, the monastery near the house, and then to Lhasa. In 1940, he became Jamphel Ngawang Lobsang Yeshe Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama, and is the face of Tibet today.

Lhamo LhatsoIn May 2011, this Dalai Lama retired as head of the Tibetan government-in-exile, separating spiritual considerations from political ones. He has also decided that when he turns 90, he'll consult the Tibetan people, followers of Tibetan Buddhism, and the high lamas of the Tibetan Buddhist tradition to decide if the institution of the Dalai Lama should continue. If it is determined that there is a need for a 15th Dalai Lama, officers of the Dalai Lama's Gaden Phodrang Trust will be responsible for finding him - or her, based on the Dalai Lama's 2007 comment that his reincarnation could be a woman.

Gedun Drupa, courtesy of Davin7
Lhamo Thondup, as a boy, courtesy of Themadchopper
Lhamo Thondup, courtesy of Fountain Posters

Article by Rory L. Aronsky

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Incarnations. It originally ran in September 2015 and has been updated for the May 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.