Reader reviews and comments on The Homecoming of Samuel Lake, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake

A Novel

by Jenny Wingfield

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2011, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2012, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Madeline Mora-Summonte (FL) (07/06/11)

A Homecoming for the Reader
This book has it all. A quick, sharp writing style that's softened by the down home voices of the characters. Laugh out loud lines. A character named Swan Lake. It's a got a little boy who will break your heart and a group of people who will put it back together again. Oh, and a villain who'll you want to take care of with your own two hands. Don't miss this book!
Shirley S. (Batavia, IL) (07/04/11)

Homecoming
Homecoming coaxes you into the ark of this family from the first page. It reads like a family member relating a history you were too young to experience but yet long to know. The serious elements can be difficult to read but as life is sometimes difficult, it portrays these incidents as they happened, not sugar coating it for the hearing of it. The people are genuine and become endearing because of the way it is written. When one is sad to leave the characters in a book behind, its the sign of a well written book and this is one of them. A very good read from start to finish.
Helen S. (Palm Desert, California) (07/02/11)

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
This book was a page turner and so difficult o put down when necessary. Jenny Wingfield did a marvelous job of "story telling" and kept my interest. The story was unusual. The payers in the story each had their own identity and purpose to the plot of the book. It was so easy to pick my favorite characters and stay with their intent in the plot. During some parts I found I held my breath and in other parts it was all "feel good" reading, I highly recommend this took to book clubs and personal reading.
Jean O. (DePere, WI) (07/02/11)

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
I read this book in record time - could not put it down! The characters left the pages and took residence in my head. The story is compelling. There is humor and fun, tragedy and sadness and all the things in between the make life interesting- - and all the interesting bits of life that make excellent novels. I hope that Jenny Wingfield keeps writing and we can look forward to more novels written by her.
Barbie R. (Jamestown, PA) (07/01/11)

A True Homecoming
The author had my complete attention after the first sentence and she never lost it. I laughed, I cried, I even read lines out loud to friends. This is a story of a family. Quirky, sarcastic, sometimes dysfunctional, and always honest family. I stayed awake to finish this book in a day because I couldn't bear the thought of putting it down, and when I reached the end, I wished I could be at the Moses's. This is my favorite book I've read this year. Two thumbs up. Great book for christian book clubs or any book club at all!
Amber B. (East Sparta, OH) (06/28/11)

Best Novel I've Read in Years...
A book you can fall in love with, The Homecoming of Samuel Lake was the best novel I've read in years. It had a similar feel to Leif Enger's Peace Like a River, which I would rank among my top five ever.
You'll wince at some of the atrociously cruel scenes in this book, and laugh aloud at the funny ones. You'll fall under the spell of Swan Lake. (Yes, that's a poor kid's name. The meanings of all the unusual names will give you something to talk about in your book clubs.) You'll admire her mother & grandmother, be impressed by her father, sympathize with her uncle; you'll hate her aunt. But you'll DESPISE Ras Ballenger, as much as you've ever loathed any other book character in your life - he is unfathomably evil.
The ending isn't exactly happy. But it rings true, clear and strong.
Well done, Jenny Wingfield. Well done.

Beyond the Book:
  Literature of the American South

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.