Reader reviews and comments on The Homecoming of Samuel Lake, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake

A Novel

by Jenny Wingfield

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2011, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2012, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lisa R. (Salem, OR) (07/11/11)

Timeless Story
I liked this book, but it might not be for everyone. Some of the situations in the book were hard to read about, although you know they happen in this world of ours. The writing was excellent, and represents many situations where people are trying to do the right thing. The only thing that threw me a little was that there were several things that happened that would have normally generated a little more in depth story telling and discussion, and instead they were somewhat skimmed over. Overall though, it was a good book that I would recommend.
Patricia L. (Seward, AK) (07/11/11)

Homecoming of Samuel Lake
Jenny Wingfield author of The Homecoming of Samuel Lake chronicles a farm family dealing with the everyday challenges of raising children while circumstances with the adults go awry. Wingfield has deftly woven the story through her characters. Swan Lake, the pre-teen daughter of congregation-less preacher Samuel Lake befriends 9 year old Blade Ballenger, abused and speechless, yet communicative. Bernice a trophy wife to one man not so secretly aspires to rekindle her relationship with her brother-in-law Samuel. Ras Ballenger, violently abusive father and husband, methodically terrorizes his family, animals and neighbors while Calla, Willadee and Toy Moses invoke the family trait for truth telling as needed. This book is fast paced yet thoughtful. The Homecoming of Samuel Lake has elements of The Secret Life of Bees and To Kill a Mockingbird and is highly recommended.
Robin W. (Marinette, WI) (07/09/11)

I love this family!
I truly enjoyed the Lake family! I was especially taken by the daughter, Swan Lake. She reminded me of Scout Finch from "To Kill a Mockingbird". Swan showed courage, determination and love for her family! This is a great summer read especially if you are headed back home for your own family reunion. You are likely to read about someone that reminds you of a member of your own family. This book is well written with a great plot AND character development.
Gail L. (Maitland, FL) (07/08/11)

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
This novel is on my all time favorites list because it has all of the elements needed to write a "complete" novel. The characters are so real, I felt like I knew each of them personally. The plot kept me on the edge of my seat, wanting to see what was just around the corner. The characters were so genuine and each one was developed so expertly. There is a clear antagonist. His behavior is so despicable that some portions of the novel were hard to read; however, this is one of the reasons the book was so interesting and real. Life, death, family dynamics, abuse of children and animals, loyalty, betrayal, and spirituality are just some of the elements that made the book special. I highly recommend this book selection for book clubs - there are so many things to discuss. I can hardly wait to see what Jenny Wingfield writes next. Great job for a first novel.
Donna W. (WELLESLEY, MA) (07/08/11)

Southern Gothic re-visited ...
The Homecoming of SL is reminiscent of the true, Southern Gothic style. Although it starts out a little on the slow side, the author eventually weaves the real chain of events into a good versus evil theme, demanding that the characters reveal their true feelings, however frightening they may be. It is a page turner for sure, and one that will truly become a title "not to miss"!
Sherrill B. (Columbia City, In.) (07/08/11)

The Homecomming of Samuel Lake
This book was action packed. I couldn't put it down.Even though I didn't like the unusual names of the characters I found the characters very believable.There was a lot of action in every chapter. There were not very many happy moments but full of life and living. This would be a good book for book clubs as there is a lot to discuss.
Christine E. (Royal Oak, MI) (07/07/11)

Do you believe in miracles?
A great novel about two families, the Lake family and the Moses family, who are related by marriage. They come up against evil in the form of Ras Ballenger. Ras hurts the two families deeply but he does not kill their beliefs in miracles. The book renewed my belief that the good in humanity can overcome evil.
Power Reviewer Sue P. (Richardson, TX) (07/07/11)

An Instant Classic!
This book was, quite simply, one of the most beautiful things I have ever read. The characters are so rich, the descriptions so evocative, the events so spellbinding that for the time it took me to read it, I WAS in 1950s Arkansas breathing the air, tasting the food and smelling the same scents as the Moses and Lake families. I didn't just read this book - I inhaled it - devoured it.

Beyond the Book:
  Literature of the American South

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.