Reader reviews and comments on Graceling, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Graceling

by Kristin Cashore

Graceling
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2008, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Graceling
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Julia (11/11/12)

A Piece of Art
I started this book 2 days ago and I finished it one day ago. This book is amazing. Every word Kristin touches turns into gold. The fantasy in the novel was so well thought out and mind blowing that the book just consumes you into a complete and utter world of fantasy and adventure. AMAZING!
Kady (01/26/12)

Excellent but not for everyone
Graceling is an engaging tale that is clearly suited to a young teen audience. Thought the premise is certainly different the plot holds few surprises. If you are looking for something exciting and easy to follow this is a wonderful read. I greatly anticipate future books from Ms. Cashore as there was some room for improvement. If you are looking for something more than mildly thought provoking, you are looking in the wrong place.
Ray Ray (11/16/11)

Took me by Storm!
This was an amazing book, I just couldn't put it down. I love the setting and the plot....It had me on my toes wanting to know whats going to happen next, there's romance, adventure and a little humor. Everyone needs to read this, you will never put is down
Alice (03/03/11)

A perfectly good plot ruined
Let me first say, the plot for this novel was wonderful. The idea of Graces and Gracelings was intriguing to me. When I started the book, I thought it was alright. Nothing extraordinary, but it was okay. About halfway through, I realized it was terrible. All of the main characters follow some sort of stereotype, especially Katsa and Po. The character development was terrible. The romance ruined it. A girl who says she is never to fall in love, falling in love? Overused and pathetic. This reminded me of Twilight, which is one of the worst books I have ever read. The climax was about the only section that interested me, and it was short. This could be a good book for people who like romance and books like Twilight, but for people who like novels that actually focus on the fantasy genre, you should pick up something better.
Sammy Dykes (10/14/10)

OMG!!!!
THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK!!! I'm a major reader but I rarely get into a different book without someone else telling me about it first. I also rarely read a book more than once. I have read Graceling twice, the Hunger Games once (though I'm working on reading it again), Eragon series once (but it was awesome and i cant wait for the new book!) and the Twilight series too many times to count! I love books like these ones and I love Graceling because its just awesome!! I sometimes refer back to it when I'm writing something myself. It helps to have it for inspiration. I wish there was more than just Fire and Graceling! They were both awesome books! I wish there was more!
Abby (09/21/10)

Graceling
I love this book so much! I couldn't put it down! It provides a world that fantasy readers will love reading about.
Mark (12/13/08)

Graceling
This book is astonishing. Fantasy readers will be compelled by the mix of love, suspense, fighting, and mystery all in one. By far a phenomenal novel and an astonishing, suspenseful read.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: All We Have Left
    All We Have Left
    by Wendy Mills
    September 11, 2001 is a date that few Americans will ever forget. It was on this day that our ...
  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.