Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 27 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honorees

Sep 29 2016: Today, The National Book Foundation named their list of 5 Under 35 honorees:

Brit Bennett, The Mothers (Riverhead)
Yaa Gyasi, Homegoing (Knopf)
Greg Jackson, Prodigals (FSG)
S. Li, Transoceanic Flights (Harvard Square Editions)
Thomas Pierce, Hall of Small ...

Full Story

New CA law hinders bookstores from offering author signings

Sep 28 2016: Two prominent California booksellers have written letters to their representatives in opposition to Assembly Bill 1570 Collectibles: Sale of Autographed Memorabilia, which was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown on September 9 and requires dealers in any autographed...

Full Story

Writers win MacArthur "genius" grants

Sep 23 2016: The MacArthur Foundation have awarded 23 "genius" grants to people who have shown "exceptional creativity in their work and the prospect for still more in the future". Each award is worth $625,000 to be paid out over five years.

Seven writers are among the twenty-...

Full Story

National Book Awards longlists announced

Sep 16 2016: All the National Book Awards longlists have now been announced, including ten nominees each for fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature.

The finalists will be announced October 13 and the winners will be awarded on November 16.

Full Story

Man Booker Prize Shortlist is Announced

Sep 13 2016: LONDON — The shortlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize for Fiction, among the most prestigious literary honors in the world, includes six books by authors from Britain, Canada, South Africa and the United States, the prize committee said on Tuesday.

Full Story

Store sales at Barnes & Noble fall nearly 7% year on year.

Sep 08 2016: In the first quarter ended July 30, total sales at Barnes & Noble fell 6.6%, to $913.9 million, and the net loss was $14.4 million, compared to a net loss of $7.8 million in the same period a year earlier. Wall Street analysts had expected total sales of about $958 ...

Full Story

New Beatrix Potter tale published today

Sep 06 2016: A new Beatrix Potter tale was published today, two years after the manuscript was unearthed following a clue discovered by Jo Hanks, publisher at Penguin Random House Children's Books, in an out-of-print 1970s literary history of the author.

Hanks found a reference to...

Full Story

Elechi Amadi dies aged 82

Aug 25 2016: Elechi Amadi, "one of the founding generation of African novelists in English," died June 29 aged 82. The Guardian reports that his work "was greatly admired by his fellow writers in Nigeria, and he had a large readership throughout Africa, but undeservedly he did not ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.