Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 24 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

President Obama talks about what books mean to him

Jan 16 2017: In a wide ranging interview with Michiko Kakutani, the chief book critic for The New York Times, Barack Obama talks about books and what they mean to him.

Full Story

'Exorcist' author William Peter Blatty dies at 89

Jan 13 2017: Novelist and filmmaker William Peter Blatty, a former Jesuit school valedictorian who conjured a tale of demonic possession and gave millions the fright of their lives with the bestselling novel and Oscar-winning movie "The Exorcist," has died. He was 89.

Full Story

Amazon confirms plans to open store in Manhattan

Jan 05 2017: Amazon has confirmed plans to open its first New York City bookstore this spring in Manhattan's Time Warner Center. The Wall Street Journal reported that the 4,000-square-foot operation will be in the Shops at Columbus Circle on the edge of Central Park.

Full Story

Costa Book Award Winners announced

Jan 04 2017: The winners have been announced for the five Costa Book Awards. These five now form the shortlist for the Costa Book of the Year prize which will be announced January 31:

Novel: Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (publishes in US on Jan 27)
First ...

Full Story

Richard Adams, author of Watership Down, dies aged 96

Dec 28 2016: Richard Adams, the British novelist who became one of the world’s best-selling authors with his first book, “Watership Down,” a tale of rabbits whose adventures in a pastoral realm of epic perils explored Homeric themes of exile, courage and survival, died on Saturday. ...

Full Story

Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire, dies aged 85

Dec 14 2016: Shirley Hazzard died December 12 aged 85. Her novel The Transit of Venus won the 1980 National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction. Then, more than 20 years elapsed before she published The Great Fire, which won the 2003 National Book Award for fiction.

Full Story

Californian law mandates proof of authenticity to sell signed book

Dec 08 2016: A new Californian law going into effect in January mandates that anyone selling a signed book for more than $5 must vouch for the autograph’s authenticity. That includes, among other things, identifying the previous owner.

The law was designed to protect consumers ...

Full Story

Authors United merging with Authors Guild

Dec 07 2016: Authors United, the group of more than 1,000 writers that author Douglas Preston set up two years ago to battle Amazon's treatment of writers during the period the online retailer was restricting the sale of Hachette titles, is merging with the Authors Guild, the ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.