BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Exhibit by R O. Kwon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Exhibit by R O. Kwon

Exhibit

A Novel

by R O. Kwon
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • May 21, 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A sensuous exploration of one woman's search for identity.

Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, a Korean American woman at a crossroads in her life. After a stunningly successful photographic exhibition, Jin has been unable to take a single "good" photo in the months since, even as the deadline for her next show approaches. Philip, her husband of eleven years, is suddenly badgering her to have children, despite telling her when they wed that he didn't want any — a sentiment she still holds strongly. And finally, she feels intense sexual frustration, with strong preferences that her more traditional partner is unwilling to satisfy. She feels lost and untethered, unable to set a course for her life; she's stuck in an unhappy place with no inkling how to move beyond it.

At the height of Jin's discontent, she meets a fellow Korean American at a party. Lidija is a world-...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  En Puntas by Javier Pérez

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Exhibit, try these:

  • Dances jacket

    Dances

    by Nicole Cuffy

    Published 2024

    About This book

    A provocative and lyrical debut novel follows a trailblazing Black ballerina who must reconcile the ever-rising stakes of her grueling career with difficult questions of love, loss, and her journey to self-liberation, from a sensuous new voice in fiction.

  • They're Going to Love You jacket

    They're Going to Love You

    by Meg Howrey

    Published 2023

    About This book

    More by this author

    A magnetic tale of betrayal, art, and ambition, set in the world of professional ballet, New York City during the AIDS crisis, and present-day Los Angeles.

We have 5 read-alikes for Exhibit, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by R Kwon
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.