Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Incendiaries by R Kwon

The Incendiaries

A Novel

by R O. Kwon

The Incendiaries by R O. Kwon X
The Incendiaries by R O. Kwon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2018, 224 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2019, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A powerful, darkly glittering novel of violence, love, faith, and loss, as a young woman at an elite American university is drawn into acts of domestic terrorism by a cult tied to North Korea.

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2018 by the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Elle, Time, Parade, Vanity Fair, Cosmopolitan, Esquire, PBS, Vulture, Buzzfeed, BookRiot, PopSugar, Refinery29, Bustle, The Millions, The Rumpus, Paste and the BBC.

Phoebe Lin and Will Kendall meet their first month at prestigious Edwards University. Phoebe is a glamorous girl who doesn't tell anyone she blames herself for her mother's recent death. Will is a misfit scholarship boy who transfers to Edwards from Bible college, waiting tables to get by. What he knows for sure is that he loves Phoebe.

Grieving and guilt-ridden, Phoebe is increasingly drawn into a religious group--a secretive extremist cult--founded by a charismatic former student, John Leal. He has an enigmatic past that involves North Korea and Phoebe's Korean American family. Meanwhile, Will struggles to confront the fundamentalism he's tried to escape, and the obsession consuming the one he loves. When the group bombs several buildings in the name of faith, killing five people, Phoebe disappears. Will devotes himself to finding her, tilting into obsession himself, seeking answers to what happened to Phoebe and if she could have been responsible for this violent act.

The Incendiaries is a fractured love story and a brilliant examination of the minds of extremist terrorists, and of what can happen to people who lose what they love most.

1.
Will

They'd have gathered on a rooftop in Noxhurst to watch the ­explosion. Platt Hall, I think, eleven floors up: I know his ego, and he'd have picked the tallest point he could. So often, I've imagined how they felt, waiting. With six minutes left, the slant light of dusk reddened the high old spiresof the college, the level gables of its surrounding town. They poured festive wine into big-bellied glasses. Hands shaking, they laughed. She would sit apart from this reveling group, cross-legged on the roof's west ledge. Three minutes to go, two, one.

The Phipps building fell. Smoke plumed, the breath of God. Silence followed, then the group's shouts of triumph. Wine glasses clashed together, flashing martial light. He sang the first bars of a Jejah psalm. Others soon joined in. Carillon bells chimed, distant birds blowing white, strewn, like dandelion tufts, an outsize wish. It must have been then that John Leal came to her side. In his bare feet, he ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The slow burn focuses on just how systematically a life can spiral out of control and incinerate everyone in its wake. At its best, The Incendiaries teases out the subtle differences between religion and faith...continued

Full Review (721 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Poornima Apte).

Media Reviews

Marie Claire
A stunning debut…After this impressive introduction of her work to the world, we're excited to see where Kwon takes us in the future.

Mashable
If there is a novel that goes to unexpected places, it's The Incendiaries by R.O. Kwon… Phenomenal

Nylon
This lyrical, haunting novel is a remarkable debut from Kwon, in which she shows with real lucidity the tangled ways in which passion slips into fanaticism, love into desperation, and faith into folly.

PopSugar
The Incendiaries will make you dizzy with its powerful prose… its heartbreaking and gut-wrenching meditations on the extremes human beings will push themselves to when they lose the thing they love most will stick with you long after you finish.

Southern Living
If you only read one book this summer, make it this complex and searing debut novel by R.O. Kwon.

The Paris Review
Remarkable… Every page blooms with sensuous language and the book's mood is otherworldly, even if its setting, a wealthy college in the Northeast, isn't… These are characters in quiet crisis, burning, above all, to know themselves, and Kwon leads them, confidently, to an enthralling end.

Jezebel
R.O. Kwon's debut novel is the rare marriage of sparkling, poetic prose and propulsive narrative.... Big ideas of God and faith are explored, but it's all grounded in the story of the relationship between two people, and how loss and vulnerability can be exploited by a persuasive religion.

New York TImes
A dark, absorbing story of how first love can be as intoxicating and dangerous as religious fundamentalism.

PBS Books
Deeply engrossing

The Rumpus
Kwon's prose is artfully crafted. It is spare and accessible, then, delightfully explosive in its literary tendencies, the music and the flourish...Kwon cultivates a palpable emptiness, a space to feel the growing sense of loss that progressively saturates these pages

Vulture
One of those slim novels that contains multitudes, R.O. Kwon's debut novel shows how unreliable we are as narrators when we're trying to invent — and reinvent — ourselves.

Publishers Weekly
Written in dazzling, spare prose...In this intriguing cult story, Kwon thoroughly explores her characters' motivations, making for an urgent and disarming debut.

Publishers Weekly
Written in dazzling, spare prose...In this intriguing cult story, Kwon thoroughly explores her characters' motivations, making for an urgent and disarming debut.

Library Journal
Kwon successfully defines her characters' depth while maintaining an air of intrigue and suspense. Throughout, she looks at the imperfections in all our lives and how our interactions may lead us down paths unbeknownst to ourselves. With a breezy yet intense style, newcomer Kwon is a writer to watch.

Kirkus Reviews
Aesthetically pleasing but narratively underwhelming.

Author Blurb Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires Everywhere and Everything I Never Told You
The Incendiaries probes the seductive and dangerous places to which we drift when loss unmoors us. In dazzlingly acrobatic prose, R. O. Kwon explores the lines between faith and fanaticism, passion and violence, the rational and the unknowable."

Author Blurb Viet Thanh Nguyen, author of The Sympathizer and The Refugees
Every explosive requires a fuse. That's R. O. Kwon's novel, a straight, slow-burning fuse. To read her novel is to follow an inexorable flame coming closer and closer to the object it will detonate—the characters, the crime, the story, and, ultimately, the reader.

Reader Reviews

Cathryn Conroy

Powerfully Intense, Somewhat Perplexing and Quite Disturbing. It's Real Work to Read This Short Book
The best way to describe this succinct, haunting book by R.O. Kwon is powerfully intense, somewhat perplexing, and quite disturbing. You may think that because it is a little more than 200 pages long, this will be shorty, breezy read. Think again...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

The Shinchonji Church

Alleged Shinchonji cult leader Lee Man-HeeIn The Incendiaries, Phoebe Lin is gradually drawn into a fictional Christian cult called Jejah. South Korea is home to a few such apocalyptic religious cults, the most prominent among them being Shinchonji.

Shinchonji, whose full name is Shinchonji, Church of Jesus, the Temple of the Tabernacle of the Testimony, was founded in 1984 by Lee Man-hee. Chairman Lee, as he is known, was himself a member of another South Korean cult, the Tent Temple Movement, which came to an abrupt end in the 1970s after its founder was accused of fraud.

Shinchonji members believe in a doomsday prophecy stating that the end is near and only they will be invited to heaven, as they are the chosen ones. The organization's name is taken from the Bible's Book ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Incendiaries, try these:

  • Crooked Hallelujah jacket

    Crooked Hallelujah

    by Kelli Jo Ford

    Published 2021

    About this book

    It's 1974 in the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma and fifteen-year-old Justine grows up in a family of tough, complicated, and loyal women presided over by her mother, Lula, and Granny.

  • Normal People jacket

    Normal People

    by Sally Rooney

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    A wondrous and wise coming-of-age love story from the celebrated author of Conversations with Friends

We have 8 read-alikes for The Incendiaries, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by R Kwon
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.