Books reviewed by Poornima Apte at BookBrowse.

Poornima Apte
BookBrowse Reviewer

Poornima is a member of the National Book Critics Circle and an award-winning journalist who lives in the greater Boston area. Trained as an engineer, she gradually made the shift to journalism after a brief stint as a technical writer. She loves to read and review literary fiction and narrative non-fiction and is most comfortable when her bedside stash of books looks like a Jenga pile. In addition to her editing responsibilities, she reviews for BookBrowse and publishes snappy 100-word-critiques of most of the books she reads on her blog, booksnfreshair.blogspot.com.

Books reviewed by Poornima Apte

Grist Mill Road (01/24/18)
Improvement (11/15/17)
Who Is Rich? (09/06/17)
Ghachar Ghochar (03/22/17)
The Animators (02/01/17)
El Paso (11/16/16)
The Mothers (10/19/16)
Here I Am (09/21/16)
The Nix (09/07/16)
Homegoing (06/22/16)
Forty Rooms (03/16/16)
Evicted (03/02/16)
Tender (02/17/16)
Oblivion (01/20/16)
Gold Fame Citrus (10/21/15)
Chilled (10/07/15)
Purity (10/07/15)
Dragonfish (08/12/15)
The Fly Trap (07/22/15)
Leaving Orbit (06/17/15)
Rain (04/29/15)
Odysseus Abroad (04/15/15)
The Sympathizer (04/15/15)
A Little Life (04/15/15)
In Manchuria (03/04/15)
Cities of Empire (01/07/15)
The Wallcreeper (10/15/14)
The Bone Clocks (09/03/14)
California (08/13/14)
Eyrie (06/18/14)
Stuff Matters (06/04/14)
Birdmen (05/07/14)
Family Life (04/23/14)
The UnAmericans (02/19/14)
Little Failure (02/05/14)
Orfeo (01/22/14)
The Goldfinch (11/06/13)
The Lowland (10/02/13)
Asunder (09/18/13)
Night Film (08/21/13)
Save Yourself (08/21/13)
TransAtlantic (06/05/13)
Overbooked (05/22/13)
A Map of Tulsa (04/17/13)
All That Is (04/03/13)
The Burgess Boys (04/03/13)
Salt Sugar Fat (04/03/13)
The Forgiven (10/17/12)
Telegraph Avenue (09/19/12)
The Collective (08/08/12)
Homesick (07/25/12)
The Neruda Case (07/11/12)
Canada (05/30/12)
The Newlyweds (05/02/12)
By Blood (03/14/12)
Red Plenty (03/14/12)
Running the Rift (01/11/12)
Just My Type (11/17/11)

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.