Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Atlas of Us by Kristin Dwyer

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Atlas of Us

by Kristin Dwyer

The Atlas of Us by Kristin Dwyer X
The Atlas of Us by Kristin Dwyer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2024, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Kristin Dwyer's The Atlas of Us is a chronicle of grief, recovery, reinvention—and finding the courage to be honest with oneself.

Despite her name, Atlas James feels like she lacks a road map for her future. In the months since her dad died from cancer, Atlas has entirely lost her way. She's been kicked out of high school and fired from her job; without a clear path forward, she volunteers for the Bear Creek Community Service program in the western Sierra Nevada mountains. The program, run by Joe, one of her dad's oldest friends, offers, among other things, an option for teens assigned court-mandated community service hours. Atlas doesn't fall in that category, but she does need a fresh start, and hard physical work to focus on while also honoring the memory of her dad, who adored hiking in these mountains and dreamed of coming back with Atlas someday, before his time ran out.

Upon arrival, Atlas is given a new name—Maps. After several days of rigorous training on trail safety protocols, maintenance tasks,...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Trail Names

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Atlas of Us, try these:

  • My Heart Underwater jacket

    My Heart Underwater

    by Laurel Fantauzzo

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Fans of Adib Khorram and Randy Ribay will love this coming-of-age debut about a Filipina American teen drowning under pressure and learning to trust her heart.

  • Four for the Road jacket

    Four for the Road

    by K J. Reilly

    Published 2023

    About this book

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower meets The End of the F***ing World in this dark young adult comedy about four unlikely friends dealing with the messy side of grief who embark on a road trip to Graceland.

We have 5 read-alikes for The Atlas of Us, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bitter Crop
    Bitter Crop
    by Paul Alexander
    In 1958, Billie Holiday began work on an ambitious album called Lady in Satin. Accompanied by a full...
  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.