Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The White Lady by Jacqueline Winspear

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The White Lady

A Novel

by Jacqueline Winspear

The White Lady by Jacqueline Winspear X
The White Lady by Jacqueline Winspear
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2023, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2024, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Maisie Dobbs author Jacqueline Winspear is back with a new heroine: retired spy Elinore White.

Jacqueline Winspear's latest, The White Lady, is a stand-alone novel featuring a new heroine. We meet Elinore White in Kent, England, two years after the end of the Second World War. She's a mystery to her neighbors, known by many as "the quiet woman" since she so rarely interacts with those she encounters. This changes when she meets Jim and Rose Mackie, and becomes entranced by their infant daughter, Susie. Elinore soon becomes aware of a threat to the young family, and she instinctively acts to protect them, in the process uncovering a dangerous criminal gang about to unleash a crime spree in London. Working with Scotland Yard, Elinore seeks to foil the plot while keeping the Mackies out of harm's way.

The primary plot is peppered with flashbacks to Elinore's past that serve to gradually reveal who this enigmatic woman truly is. Beginning with her role as a pre-teen saboteur in ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The White Lady, try these:

  • The Women jacket

    The Women

    by Kristin Hannah

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From master storyteller Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Four Winds, comes the story of a turbulent, transformative era in America: the 1960s.

  • The War Librarian jacket

    The War Librarian

    by Addison Armstrong

    Published 2022

    About this book

    The Paris Library meets The Flight Girls in this captivating historical novel about the sacrifice and courage necessary to live a life of honor, inspired by the first female volunteer librarians during World War I and the first women accepted into the U.S. Naval Academy.

We have 5 read-alikes for The White Lady, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jacqueline Winspear
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.