Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews All the Lonely People by Mike Gayle

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All the Lonely People

by Mike Gayle

All the Lonely People by Mike Gayle X
All the Lonely People by Mike Gayle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2021, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2022, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Mike Gayle's novel asks: How do lonely people become lonely?

Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old widower who lives alone in Bromley (a London borough) with just his cat for company. He leads an isolated existence, his only meaningful contact a weekly phone call with his daughter, Rose, who moved to Australia nearly 20 years prior. This starts to change when single mother Ashleigh moves in next door with her toddler, Layla. The effervescent young woman is determined to know her neighbors, and as Hubert reluctantly lets her into his life, his world changes in ways he couldn't have imagined.

Alternating with this storyline is the tale of Hubert's past, beginning with his departure from Jamaica when he was in his early 20s. Part of the "Windrush generation" (see Beyond the Book), Hubert joins his friend Gus in England as a low-wage laborer, and over the ensuing years marries, has children and generally prospers.

This delightful work is almost two books in one. The section set in the present reads like a fable or fairytale; it's a feel-good story, a pleasant read that speaks to the theme of loneliness. And it's certainly timely; our society has become increasingly insular, encouraging one to have many "friends" on social media platforms without truly knowing much about them or interacting with them beyond the screen. There seem to be fewer opportunities to develop relationships, as well; in many areas, community gatherings are less common, many haven't met their neighbors, families are often geographically dispersed. And, of course, the pandemic has brought distance, both physical and emotional. As Hubert and Ashleigh combat this phenomenon of isolation, the author gives us a roadmap of how to reverse the trend — in our own lives and the lives of those around us.

Gayle states in a Q&A that he set out to write a book about "how someone's life fills and then empties again," and the chapters set in the past accomplish that goal remarkably well. These feel realistic, as Hubert faces hurdles he must overcome to prosper in his adopted country; his life is good by many standards but far from idyllic. Along the way, the author tackles complex themes such as racism, drug abuse and grief, among others, and the unexpected depth here is what transforms the book from a light-but-forgettable read into a satisfying and memorable one.

Gayle's characterization is exceptional; certainly Hubert, Ashleigh and Hubert's wife Joyce are fully fleshed out, with Hubert in particular eliciting readers' sympathies, but even the author's minor characters are often complex. The other "lonely people" who appear throughout the novel are quirky, but not to such an extent that they seem like caricatures. There are those who are less distinctly drawn — largely bullies Hubert encounters — but since each serves as a representation of the type of bigot a Black immigrant might encounter, the fact that they're stereotypes makes literary sense.

There are a few moments some may find a little manipulative — plot points inserted more to tug on readers' heartstrings than because they make sense — but I doubt most will mind. The book is compulsively readable and its characters so loveable it's easy to gloss over its minor flaws. All the Lonely People is likely to find a wide audience; with its focus on overcoming loneliness, it feels like the right book at the right time, sure to resonate with many. Its generally upbeat tone and overarching sense of optimism make it an exceptionally satisfying read. Book groups will find it great for discussion, and BookBrowse's own book club is discussing it online.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review first ran in the September 21, 2022 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Windrush Generation

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked All the Lonely People, try these:

  • Remarkably Bright Creatures jacket

    Remarkably Bright Creatures

    by Shelby Van Pelt

    Published 2025

    About this book

    Winner of the 2022 BookBrowse Debut Award

    For fans of A Man Called Ove, a charming, witty and compulsively readable exploration of friendship, reckoning, and hope that traces a widow's unlikely connection with a giant Pacific octopus.

  • The Story of Arthur Truluv jacket

    The Story of Arthur Truluv

    by Elizabeth Berg

    Published 2018

    About this book

    More by this author

    An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them—from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg.

We have 6 read-alikes for All the Lonely People, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.