Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews The Debt Trap by Josh Mitchell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Debt Trap

How Student Loans Became a National Catastrophe

by Josh Mitchell

The Debt Trap by Josh Mitchell X
The Debt Trap by Josh Mitchell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2021, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2022, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Eddie Bennett
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Josh Mitchell's The Debt Trap examines how runaway debt became common in the student loan industry.

The Debt Trap by Josh Mitchell opens up the dialogue for meaningful conversations about a problem that many Americans face: student loan debt. The book surveys the history of the student loan industry and examines how it became the behemoth that it is today, starting with the governmental conception of the loan corporation Sallie Mae, which was initially meant to create a more defined path to the American Dream (see Beyond the Book).

Throughout the book, Mitchell offers endearing and heartbreaking stories of students from different parts of the country, all having financial issues related to obtaining a post-secondary education. For example, one student, Brandon, has family members who no longer speak to each other because of the burdens they have suffered in helping him get loans for school. Mitchell also explains how greed motivated the people who contributed to the unethical nature of the system that was supposed to help students like Brandon. Through a comprehensive history of Sallie Mae and its involvement in predatory marketing and other morally dubious practices, readers are taken on a journey that shows the beginning of the problem from multiple vantage points.

In navigating the complex story, Mitchell demonstrates the basic lack of understanding even some politicians have had on the subject of student loans. For example, during a 1981 hearing, a Democratic Senator from West Virginia was asked what she thought of Sallie Mae. Her response was, "Who is she?" This was pretty typical of the understanding of Sallie Mae and student lending among lawmakers at the time.

The Debt Trap introduces readers to some of the most important and well paid names in student loans, banking and government, all of whom received handsome incentives to not only continue a cycle of predatory behaviors towards unsuspecting and desperate victims, but to cultivate the growth of the industry to make it "too big to fail." This includes figures like Bill Ford, the first president of Sallie Mae, as well as Representatives Ed Fox and John Boehner.

The book also lifts the veil on the culpability and involvement of colleges and universities in the catastrophe that student loans have become. It details the lack of oversight and regulations that allowed colleges and universities to become predatory organizations that were focused less on the students they enrolled and more on the money they received from their enrollment.

Mitchell depicts practices of important people, and even more important institutions, who have been trusted with the futures of so many, only to destroy those futures for the sake of profiteering legitimized by government structures. One of the major concerns connected to the student loan industry has been the abuse of the endowment of resources. In one case, two brothers who ran a Florida school that offered training for travel-based careers enticed students to apply for loans that went directly to the school, and then used the money to boost their own incomes. Examples like these offer an important and less common narrative about the integrity of post-secondary educational institutions in the United States.

This book is a must-read if you have been to college, are thinking about going to college or even have never thought about going to college. Mitchell offers an extremely poignant and unflinching look at the mechanisms by which people's lives are turned into debt traps through the U.S. student loan industry.

Reviewed by Eddie Bennett

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2021, and has been updated for the September 2022 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Debt Trap, try these:

  • Poverty, by America jacket

    Poverty, by America

    by Matthew Desmond

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    The Pulitzer Prize–winning, bestselling author of Evicted reimagines the debate on poverty, making a new and bracing argument about why it persists in America: because the rest of us benefit from it.

  • The Price We Pay jacket

    The Price We Pay

    by Marty Makary

    Published 2021

    About this book

    One in five Americans now has medical debt in collections and rising health care costs today threaten every small business in America. Dr. Makary, one of the nation's leading health care experts, travels across America and details why health care has become a bubble.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Debt Trap, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

Harvard is the storehouse of knowledge because the freshmen bring so much in and the graduates take so little out.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.