Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Price We Pay by Marty Makary

The Price We Pay

What Broke American Health Care--and How to Fix It

by Marty Makary

The Price We Pay by Marty  Makary X
The Price We Pay by Marty  Makary
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2019, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2021, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tara Mcnabb
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

One in five Americans now has medical debt in collections and rising health care costs today threaten every small business in America. Dr. Makary, one of the nation's leading health care experts, travels across America and details why health care has become a bubble.

Drawing from on-the-ground stories, his research, and his own experience, The Price We Pay paints a vivid picture of price-gouging, middlemen, and a series of elusive money games in need of a serious shake-up. Dr. Makary shows how so much of health care spending goes to things that have nothing to do with health and what you can do about it. Dr. Makary challenges the medical establishment to remember medicine's noble heritage of caring for people when they are vulnerable.

The Price We Pay offers a roadmap for everyday Americans and business leaders to get a better deal on their health care, and profiles the disruptors who are innovating medical care. The movement to restore medicine to its mission, Makary argues, is alive and well--a mission that can rebuild the public trust and save our country from the crushing cost of health care.

Excerpt
The Price We Pay

A few years ago, South Korea found itself in the middle of a thyroid cancer epidemic. Starting around 2000, Korean doctors were finding an alarming number of cancerous tumors on the thyroid, a gland in the neck that makes hormones to regulate the body. The rate of thyroid cancer rose at an alarming rate, with yearly increases. Between 1992 and 2011, the Korean thyroid cancer rate increased by a factor of 15, making it the worst in the world for the disease. Thyroid cancer is easy to treat if caught early. And the Korean medical industry responded to the crisis with full force. Hospitals expanded thyroid clinics, hired surgeons, and invested in surgical robots to perform operations to remove tumors. The rate of thyroid surgery skyrocketed more than tenfold. About 4,000 Korean patients underwent surgery for thyroid cancer in 2001. By 2012, about 44,000 Koreans had undergone the same operation.

Thyroid cancer cases consumed valuable resources, and the economic ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The book presents a series of detailed case studies of individuals who have found themselves the victims of medical establishments’ unethical billing practices. The author's travels take him all the way from Pennsylvania to New Mexico, and he successfully links his many interviewees' frustrations with modern healthcare, despite their geographical distance from each other...continued

Full Review (711 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Tara Mcnabb).

Media Reviews

BookRiot
[The Price We Pay] is a fascinating look at people and communities throughout America—Dr. Makary blends reportage, research, and personal anecdotes about how money is really spent in healthcare, how we got to where we are today, and who is affected the most. I just started this one, and I already want to tell everyone to read it.

Washington Post
The Price We Pay is stuffed with examples of predatory billing, confusing costs and statistics that could make you despondent. But there’s plenty of honesty, problem-solving and hope to leaven all that despair.

Booklist (starred review)
In this thoroughly reported primer Makary authoritatively and conversationally explains the money games of medicine...Consider this book a powerful call to action for more information about health costs and for restoring the 'noble mission' of treating everyone with fairness and dignity.

Kirkus Reviews
Makary rightly takes the health care business to task, but he also offers a ray of hope that change can and will happen.

Author Blurb Cass Sunstein, co-author of Nudge and Professor, Harvard Law School
A valuable and illuminating read, full of intriguing insights into the use of decision-making in medicine and health care and how to make things work for all.

Author Blurb Senator William H. Frist, MD
Marty Makary is one of the great thought leaders in medicine and his new book, The Price We Pay, brilliantly lifts the veil on the state of modern medicine and the new ideas that are disrupting it.

Author Blurb Steve Forbes, editor-in-chief, Forbes magazine
A must-read for every American and business leader.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Healthcare: U.S. vs. Europe

As discussed in Marty Makary's The Price We Pay, the United States is one of the wealthiest countries in the world, and it spends more money per person on healthcare than any other developed country in the world. Recent data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) shows that America spent $10,209 per capita on total healthcare costs in 2017, more than any other of the 36 nations in the OECD. However, this higher spending does not lead to more effective services, and the nation's healthcare system has become an object of shame and outrage among many of its citizens.

Life Expectancy vs. Healthcare Spending Per Capita

According to a July 2017 report from The Commonwealth Fund, the U.S. came in last among eleven developed countries when it came to ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Price We Pay, try these:

  • Poverty, by America jacket

    Poverty, by America

    by Matthew Desmond

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    The Pulitzer Prize–winning, bestselling author of Evicted reimagines the debate on poverty, making a new and bracing argument about why it persists in America: because the rest of us benefit from it.

  • The Gospel of Wellness jacket

    The Gospel of Wellness

    by Rina Raphael

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Journalist Rina Raphael looks at the explosion of the wellness industry: how it stems from legitimate complaints, how seductive marketing targets hopeful consumers–and why women are opening up their wallets like never before.

We have 7 read-alikes for The Price We Pay, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

Be sincere, be brief, be seated

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.