Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Mountains Sing

by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai X
The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2020, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2021, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A vivid and poetic multi-generational saga, The Mountains Sing follows the experiences of a Vietnamese family through the 20th century.

Voted 2020 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

All 23 of our First Impressions reviewers for The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai rated the book 4 or 5 stars, with over half giving it 5 stars, resulting in an inspiring average rating of 4.6.

What the book is about:

This beautifully written historical novel tells the 20th-century Vietnamese history of conflict, famine and corruption through the lives of a resilient and loving grandmother, born in 1920, and her granddaughter, born in 1960, who long for a world without war. Their struggles to survive, and stay a family, portray the impact war can have for many generations (Lynn D).

Readers describe Nyugen's writing as beautiful and poetic...

This story is beautifully and compellingly told by Nguyễn Phan, whose family lived through Vietnam's 20th-century history, starting with the land reform, Communist rule and the Vietnam War (Margaret A). This is one of the best books I've read in a long time! The author Nguyễn Phan is a poet and it shows in her beautiful prose (Karen S). With power and poetry, Nguyễn Phan guided me onto lands and into cultures I had never before experienced. Her fresh imagery reflects a constant dependence on the earth for survival, passed down through generations of farmers (Ora J).

...and remark that the book is surprisingly engaging despite its painful subject matter.

It seems odd to note that a book about such painful events is "easy to read," but this poet, essayist and novelist tells her characters' story with clarity and beautiful language (Karen S). Nguyễn Phan gives us characters with depth and a storyline that is filled with action, insight and discovery (Molly K).

Some reviewers mention having gained a new perspective on the Vietnam War…

The story was an eye-opener for me, never having heard the Vietnam story from the point of view of the North Vietnamese. They struggled heroically to keep their way of life and their country whole in the face of incredibly bad odds forced on them by foreign powers (Liz D). As an American, I found this novel to be eye-opening about a country and people beyond just the "Vietnam War" I knew about. A full-bodied picture was presented, providing a depth of knowledge and emotion that was lacking in my previous thoughts of Vietnam (Kay D).

...as well as a sense of hope.

I was especially awed by the strength, courage and intelligence of Tran Dieu Lan, the matriarch of the Tran family. She shares her story with her young granddaughter, Huong, whose father has not returned from the war and whose mother is traumatized by her own war experiences. There is no one in the family not touched by the evils of war. But they have such strong love for each other. The Mountains Sing is truly inspiring (Gloria F). The examples of respect and honor for ancestors, devotion to family and persistence in the face of incredible odds are lessons for all. The hope and love shine through in this emotionally fulfilling novel. I look forward to hearing more from Nguyễn Phan either in new books or translations of some of her previous works (Mary G).

Click here for how to pronounce the author's name.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in April 2020, and has been updated for the March 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Mountains Sing, try these:

  • Banyan Moon jacket

    Banyan Moon

    by Thao Thai

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A sweeping, evocative debut novel following three generations of Vietnamese American women reeling from the death of their matriarch, revealing the family's inherited burdens, buried secrets, and unlikely love stories.

  • Daughters of Shandong jacket

    Daughters of Shandong

    by Eve J. Chung

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A propulsive, extraordinary novel about a mother and her daughters' harrowing escape to Taiwan as the Communist revolution sweeps through China, by debut author Eve J. Chung, based on her family story.

We have 11 read-alikes for The Mountains Sing, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Nguyen Phan Que Mai
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.