BookBrowse Reviews The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

A Novel

by Christy Lefteri

The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy  Lefteri X
The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy  Lefteri
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2019, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This moving novel explores the pasts, hopes, and fears of a group of Syrian refugees seeking safety in England.

In Christy Lefteri's sophomore novel, The Beekeeper of Aleppo, the author introduces readers to Syrian refugee and former beekeeper Nuri Ibrahim as he waits in England with his wife, Afra, to find out if they'll be granted asylum. Nuri's first-person narration relays what their lives are currently like, and through flashbacks readers are told Nuri's life story – about his boyhood in Syria, his partnership with his cousin Mustafa in a bee-raising enterprise, his experience of war in his homeland, and finally the difficult and harrowing journey to safety. Nuri's recollections proceed more or less chronologically, with the majority focusing on the challenges the couple faced trying to get to England; in particular Nuri recounts the appalling experiences he and Afra, like many, endured while waiting (with little hope of relief) in Greek refugee camps en route to Western Europe.

...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Bees and Honey Across the Ages

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.