BookBrowse Reviews The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Great Alone

by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah X
The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Feb 2018, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This story, set in the wilds of Alaska, narrates the tale of an American family tested beyond endurance.

Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone, centers around Leni Allbright, a teenage girl who moves with her parents to the remote wilds of Alaska in the 1970s. Her father, a Vietnam veteran, feels that the isolation of the rugged wilderness will give him a new lease on life and provide healing, and plans to establish a homestead with his family far from society. However, Leni soon find that their seclusion, the challenges of living in such a remote area, and the unending nights ultimately release her father's demons instead.

The Great Alone definitely has its strengths, and there's much to enjoy here. For me, the author's writing is the highlight. Her ability to describe the beauty of the harsh Alaskan country is perhaps the novel's best feature; her prose made me long to visit the area.

Even with all the pictures Leni had studied and all the articles and books she'd read, she hadn't been prepared for the wild, spectacular beauty of Alaska. It was otherworldly somehow, magical in its vast expanse, an incomparable landscape of soaring, glacier-filled white mountains that ran the length of the horizon, knife-tip points pressed high into a cloudless cornflower-blue sky. Kachemak Bay was a sheet of hammered sterling in the sunlight. Boats dotted the bay. The air smelled briny, deeply of the sea. Shorebirds floated on the wind, dipped and rose effortlessly.

I frequently caught myself smiling at her turn of a phrase, such as a character warning Leni and her mother that "Alaska herself can be Sleeping Beauty one minute and a bitch with a sawed-off shotgun the next." The family's efforts to transform a broken-down hovel into a home in which they could survive the unforgiving northern winter are fascinating as well. And the action scenes distributed throughout, had me on the edge of my seat more than once.

There are, however, aspects of the novel that don't live up to the quality of the author's writing. First, with the exception of Leni, the characters are all completely flat; they are stereotypical with absolutely no growth over the course of the novel. They are people we have often encountered in literature – the battered wife, the all-wise woman who looks out for her, the damaged POW, the iconoclastic anti-government patriarch, etc. There's nothing new here.

I also found the plot somewhat uneven, at times being overly predictable and at others taking improbably twists that challenge credulity. The author starts to develop plotlines but later they're mysteriously dropped (in one example, several times she mentions a brooding boy about the same age as her protagonist but then he disappears from the narrative entirely; in another, an ultra-conservative conclave that seems central in the first chapters inexplicably plays no role as the book progresses). And finally, the last section felt rushed and under-developed.

Although I found The Great Alone to be a mixed bag, I imagine Hannah's fans will be able to overlook the book's flaws and enjoy both the beauty of her prose and the romance at the core of the story. Book groups may also find the novel to be a good selection leading to in-depth discussions of important issues such as spousal abuse, the treatment of returning war veterans, and the tussle between progress vs. tradition.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review is from the February 7, 2018 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Bard of the Yukon

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.